Post Reply

[Q] odin on and off

OP BigNoobee

30th April 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
It seems that when I connect my phone to odin a com port opens. When I put my phone into recovery mode the com port does not open so odin does not see my phone. Yes I do have the phone in debug mode. Samsung drivers are in.
1st May 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 74
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNoobee

It seems that when I connect my phone to odin a com port opens. When I put my phone into recovery mode the com port does not open so odin does not see my phone. Yes I do have the phone in debug mode. Samsung drivers are in.

Odin is used in download mode. Are you trying to use it in recovery mode?
1st May 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

Odin is used in download mode. Are you trying to use it in recovery mode?

Trying to root the phone. Doesn't the phone need to be in recovery mode to root it?
1st May 2014, 01:35 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 74
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNoobee

Trying to root the phone. Doesn't the phone need to be in recovery mode to root it?

Depending on your phone model and what method you are trying to use to root, you may need to flash SuperSU via recovery. This process does not, however, start in recovery. It starts with flashing custom recovery via Odin and then manually booting to recovery to flash the SuperSU zip. To flash a custom recovery via Odin, you would need to boot into download mode. There are other methods, of course, to root that do not require either download or recovery modes. What's the model of your phone and what firmware version are you on?
2nd May 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #5  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 633
 
2,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Have you tried flashing a pre-rooted ROM? You have an i747 or i747m?
3rd May 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

Depending on your phone model and what method you are trying to use to root, you may need to flash SuperSU via recovery. This process does not, however, start in recovery. It starts with flashing custom recovery via Odin and then manually booting to recovery to flash the SuperSU zip. To flash a custom recovery via Odin, you would need to boot into download mode. There are other methods, of course, to root that do not require either download or recovery modes. What's the model of your phone and what firmware version are you on?

The phone is a SGH-I747M ver. 4.3

I tried rooting based on a number of videos as to easily follow the process.
3rd May 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Have you tried flashing a pre-rooted ROM? You have an i747 or i747m?


I have a i747m, The situation is that odin only opens the com port when the phone is in operating mode.
3rd May 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNoobee

It seems that when I connect my phone to odin a com port opens. When I put my phone into recovery mode the com port does not open so odin does not see my phone. Yes I do have the phone in debug mode. Samsung drivers are in.

I should have stated my goal. My goal is to put kitkat on my phone. After talking to my provider (petro mobility) on the Rogers network no upgrades are going to be provided and at the very least I need an s4 or better s5 to run kitkat. Also this information I was given is NOT official but only the opinion of an employee"s personal opinion, having worked for the company for some time. The phone is not supported in any way by petro mobility but is only running on the Rogers network. If any upgrades are made it will be by Rogers. Rogers will not say anything because I am not a Rogers customer.
3rd May 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #9  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 633
 
2,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
To flash a Kit Kat ROM, you need to have a custom recovery installed on your phone.

You can load Philz Touch via Odin.You can flash the latest tar Philz d2lte from here: http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_A..._Edition/d2lte

Boot into download mode, put the Philz tar file in the PDA section of Odin, check nothing except auto reboot and F.Reset Time.

Boot into recovery mode and you will see that Phil has replaced the stock recovery.

You can copy a custom rom to your external micro SD card and flash it.

If you just want a rooted stock ROM, look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show..._utmk=34317218

Warning: doing all of these things can soft or hard brick your phone. Make sure you read and understand everything before proceeding. The method I described worked my i747m with 4.1.2 and another i747m with 4.3. I cannot guarantee it will work for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

To flash a Kit Kat ROM, you need to have a custom recovery installed on your phone.

You can load Philz Touch via Odin.You can flash the latest tar Philz d2lte from here: http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_A..._Edition/d2lte

Boot into download mode, put the Philz tar file in the PDA section of Odin, check nothing except auto reboot and F.Reset Time.

Boot into recovery mode and you will see that Phil has replaced the stock recovery.

You can copy a custom rom to your external micro SD card and flash it.

If you just want a rooted stock ROM, look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show..._utmk=34317218

Warning: doing all of these things can soft or hard brick your phone. Make sure you read and understand everything before proceeding. The method I described worked my i747m with 4.1.2 and another i747m with 4.3. I cannot guarantee it will work for you.


GREAT !!!! GREAT !!! Sorry for Yelling It worked for me ThanX

My next step is to go get Rom Manager from the app store...watching their video now on Rom Manager.. Very high learning curve for me- hope I don't brick the phone ....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes