Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,068 Members 48,393 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Home Screen Offset - Solved

Tip us?
 
Reaved
Old
(Last edited by Reaved; 1st May 2014 at 05:06 AM.) Reason: Solved: Changing font size fixed the issue.
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Before the thumb
Thumbs up [Q] Home Screen Offset - Solved

This evening when I unlocked (as in, from the lock screen) my Verizon HTC One M8 it appeared that the Sense home screen was stuck between two panels. Icons and widgets were half way off the left side of the screen. I tried to move them over but it kept putting them back to the left. I swiped through my panels and all of them are like that. I tried to remove widgets/icons/panels but nothing has helped. I've also shutdown and rebooted to no avail. It seems like the panels have gone from being tall rectangles to squares. It's making my home screen impossible to use. Has anyone else ever had this problem?

Version: 1.12.605.11, s-off, rooted, TWRP, stock (only a few frozen bloatware). All of the modifications were made shortly after s-off was released, no changes made since then.

I have some screenshots that I'll post shortly.

Thanks.
 
Reaved
Old
(Last edited by Reaved; 2nd May 2014 at 04:00 AM.)
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Before the thumb
Screenshots:
Removed to save personal bandwidth.
 
an0ther
Old
#3  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 508
Join Date: Sep 2013
You could restore to the backup you made before doing any changes? Sounds like you froze the wrong thing. You could try unfreezing. If you have no backup you can download one or flash a Rom. All the high end roms work on all m8 variants.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zacwilliam
Old
(Last edited by zacwilliam; 1st May 2014 at 03:53 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Have you tried deleting them and replacing them?

EDIT: nevermind missed that in the OP. Try deleting the homescreen they're supposed to be placed on?
The Following User Says Thank You to zacwilliam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Reaved
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Before the thumb
Info 2 Solution Found

Thanks for the replies.

After trying a bunch of things, changing the font size seems to have reset everything to normal. A very odd bug, almost as if Sense was stuck in landscape mode while the display was portrait.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes