FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] Stuck on Clockworkmod Recovery Bootloop

10 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Cinestra, Junior Member on 1st May 2014, 03:19 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Every time i try to boot up my phone, the logo screen shows up, and then it immediately gets redirected to ClockWorkMod.
I'm able to do everything in ClockWorkMod, but that's about it. All of Clockworkmod's features seem to work though.
I'm also able to enter into bootloader by holding the power button and the volume down button.
I tried doing a clean factory reset, but all it did was redirect me to ClockWorkMod.

Any suggestions on how to get out of this loop?
Last edited by Cinestra; 1st May 2014 at 03:27 AM. Reason: To make the text shorter and more precise
 
 
1st May 2014, 03:52 AM |#2  
Chilidog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinestra

Every time i try to boot up my phone, the logo screen shows up, and then it immediately gets redirected to ClockWorkMod.
I'm able to do everything in ClockWorkMod, but that's about it. All of Clockworkmod's features seem to work though.
I'm also able to enter into bootloader by holding the power button and the volume down button.
I tried doing a clean factory reset, but all it did was redirect me to ClockWorkMod.

Any suggestions on how to get out of this loop?

Install a rom.
1st May 2014, 04:03 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unable to install a rom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilidog

Install a rom.

I originally got into this spot when I was trying to install ViperOne onto my phone. Unfortunately, I don't have any other roms on my phone right now, and my computer doesn't recognize my phone while it's in ClockWorkMod or while it's in Bootloader (although I do here a ding sound whenever I connect my HTC One to the computer, I just can't see where the driver is at. And I'm not quite sure if I can do anything with it anyways).

Because my computer is unable to recognize my phone, I can't put on any roms onto my phone. So I can't install any new ones.
Last edited by Cinestra; 1st May 2014 at 04:09 AM. Reason: The first title could be interpreted as rude
1st May 2014, 04:16 AM |#4  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Go buy a usb-otg cable and a usb flash drive. You can get them both for under 20 bucks. Even cheaper if you already have a usb flash drive 5 bucks.
1st May 2014, 04:26 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
That seems like a viable solution
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco

Go buy a usb-otg cable and a usb flash drive. You can get them both for under 20 bucks. Even cheaper if you already have a usb flash drive 5 bucks.

Thank you for the advice, that seems like a viable solution. However, are there any other solutions that wouldn't require me buying external hardware? I don't understand how I really even got into this recovery loop in the first place...

Would you just download a rom onto the card, plug that into the USB-otg cable, and then install it on the phone?
I'm just wondering... is it certain that the rom is the problem though?
What if it's the Clockworkmod?
If possible, I would just like to revert back to TWRP so i could just load its backups.
Last edited by Cinestra; 1st May 2014 at 04:33 AM. Reason: Clarification
1st May 2014, 07:01 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Resolved
I was able to revert from ClockWorkMod recovery to TWRP using this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jnESTcH2ioA and then i was able to recover my system to its original point. Thank you all for the advice!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes