Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,008 Members 51,790 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No offline mode at pin code screen.

Tip us?
 
Gothik
Old
#1  
Gothik's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 176
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lahore
Angry No offline mode at pin code screen.

I have been flashing a few ROM's (I am not done at the moment) and nearly a dollar worth of my prepaid credit has been used because mobile data turns on and starts transferring something to the mother ship (hard resets only or if you flash a new ROM).

Now, even cheap phones have a offline mode (airplane mode) at start up but Android is something special and we dont even get this little feature?. What the hell?. The only fix I can think of is do everything with your SIM out.

Can any one tell me if this "feature" actually existed in any old version?. Gingerbread?. Ice cream sandwich?, or is it present in KitKat?.

I am extremely pissed off though.
Fernando Alonso F1!
 
akiratoriyama
Old
#2  
akiratoriyama's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,612
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Samsung has purposely removed everything else except maybe the shutdown and restart from power menu when you first load stock ROM. Removing the sim may be the only option at first when the Setup wizard is running. Also afaik, KitKat doesn't have such issue.

Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
However, if you put any trust in Quadrant scores you could use them to prove that dancing naked for 5 minutes in your garden affects device performance. By Chainfire
 
Gothik
Old
#3  
Gothik's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 176
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by akiratoriyama View Post
Samsung has purposely removed everything else except maybe the shutdown and restart from power menu when you first load stock ROM. Removing the sim may be the only option at first when the Setup wizard is running. Also afaik, KitKat doesn't have such issue.

Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
This is Samsung's doing?.
Fernando Alonso F1!
 
akiratoriyama
Old
#4  
akiratoriyama's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,612
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothik View Post
This is Samsung's doing?.
Yep. At least when you first start the phone a.k.a Setup Wizard.

Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
However, if you put any trust in Quadrant scores you could use them to prove that dancing naked for 5 minutes in your garden affects device performance. By Chainfire
 
Gothik
Old
#5  
Gothik's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 176
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by akiratoriyama View Post
Yep. At least when you first start the phone a.k.a Setup Wizard.

Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
Thanks for clearing all this up.
Fernando Alonso F1!
Tags
mobile data, offline mode, prepaid
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes