FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] AT&T ROM on TMo but how to change Phone Model number?

222 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By edo101, Senior Member on 29th April 2014, 04:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys, I successfully running Sky Note G2 Note 3 edition on my Tmobile phone. I chose this ROM because of it's Note 3 apps/abilities. (Not sure if any Tmobile ROMs can do that)

Anyway, with it being an AT&T ROM, my phone model shows up as an AT&T phone. Now I'm not bothered by this at all but I sure would like to get wifi calling and mobile hotspot back if possible. I heard you could do a build.prop edit? Any of you ever done it?
 
 
29th April 2014, 06:21 PM |#2  
yamanetoshiro's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Conway
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

Hey guys, I successfully running Sky Note G2 Note 3 edition on my Tmobile phone. I chose this ROM because of it's Note 3 apps/abilities. (Not sure if any Tmobile ROMs can do that)

Anyway, with it being an AT&T ROM, my phone model shows up as an AT&T phone. Now I'm not bothered by this at all but I sure would like to get wifi calling and mobile hotspot back if possible. I heard you could do a build.prop edit? Any of you ever done it?

I'm running the same rom. I've always edited the build.prop to change my phone model. You can use either a build.prop editor from the Play Store, or do it manually. I used ES File Explorer. I think the one you're wanting to change is "ro.product.model=Samsung SGH-I317". Search for that line in your build.prop file.
30th April 2014, 02:56 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamanetoshiro

I'm running the same rom. I've always edited the build.prop to change my phone model. You can use either a build.prop editor from the Play Store, or do it manually. I used ES File Explorer. I think the one you're wanting to change is "ro.product.model=Samsung SGH-I317". Search for that line in your build.prop file.

Will this let me get Tmobile apps? somehow? Like wifi calling and hotspot?
30th April 2014, 05:18 AM |#4  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

Will this let me get Tmobile apps? somehow? Like wifi calling and hotspot?

Changing build.prop will do nothing to get WiFi calling into that ROM. The base ROM has to be a tmo stock based ROM DN3 is definitively NOT a tmo stock based ROM.

While I have not used DN3 I think hotspot is in it IIRC. Check out the settings in wireless and networks > more > regretting and portable hotspot. You might be able to get it to work from there.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
30th April 2014, 06:11 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Changing build.prop will do nothing to get WiFi calling into that ROM. The base ROM has to be a tmo stock based ROM DN3 is definitively NOT a tmo stock based ROM.

While I have not used DN3 I think hotspot is in it IIRC. Check out the settings in wireless and networks > more > regretting and portable hotspot. You might be able to get it to work from there.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Hmm I am getting attached to Sky Note Air lol, if DN3 doesn't have those Tmo apps then no point for me, unless DN offers other benefits that Sky Note Air G2 doesn't.

Any third party programs I can download to get tethering and or wifi calling?
1st May 2014, 04:46 AM |#6  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

Hmm I am getting attached to Sky Note Air lol, if DN3 doesn't have those Tmo apps then no point for me, unless DN offers other benefits that Sky Note Air G2 doesn't.

Any third party programs I can download to get tethering and or wifi calling?

IIRC tethering is already there.

Wi-Fi calling on non T-Mobile firmware will *not* be the tmo Wi-Fi calling. Will not. Locked down. No chance. Not happening. Doesn't matter how many times the question is asked.

Best you can do is something like Skype, Tango, Hangouts etc. They are not T-Mobile Wi-Fi calling. I don't bother with it if it isn't the real thing.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
1st May 2014, 11:27 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

IIRC tethering is already there.

Wi-Fi calling on non T-Mobile firmware will *not* be the tmo Wi-Fi calling. Will not. Locked down. No chance. Not happening. Doesn't matter how many times the question is asked.

Best you can do is something like Skype, Tango, Hangouts etc. They are not T-Mobile Wi-Fi calling. I don't bother with it if it isn't the real thing.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Which ROM do you use? I'm really getting attached to Sky Note Air G2 but I wonder is there is a better ROM that has Note 3 features before I settle in and install all my apps
2nd May 2014, 03:22 AM |#8  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

Which ROM do you use? I'm really getting attached to Sky Note Air G2 but I wonder is there is a better ROM that has Note 3 features before I settle in and install all my apps

Omni multiwindow mostly. Jedi X a day a week. I keep a Jedi nandroid up to date and on the SD card in case I need Wi-Fi calling or something similar.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes