Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,106 Members 41,964 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Kit Kat and TWRP/CWM

Tip us?
 
BigBadBere
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] Kit Kat and TWRP/CWM

Hello all,

I received a replacement phone today from Sprint.

It is already updated to 4.4.X
Hboot 1.56.

I unlocked bootloader just fine, flashed TWRP 2.6.3.4...rebooted and would not boot into recovery, flashed again, same result.

I found 2.6.3.4a, flashed and same result...would not boot into recovery.

Flashed CWM and same result.

Anyone else have this issue? I tried searching, but found no result related...please post threads if I missed...

Thanks

Josh
 
Aldo101t
Old
#2  
Aldo101t's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,296
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadBere View Post
Hello all,

I received a replacement phone today from Sprint.

It is already updated to 4.4.X
Hboot 1.56.

I unlocked bootloader just fine, flashed TWRP 2.6.3.4...rebooted and would not boot into recovery, flashed again, same result.

I found 2.6.3.4a, flashed and same result...would not boot into recovery.

Flashed CWM and same result.

Anyone else have this issue? I tried searching, but found no result related...please post threads if I missed...

Thanks

Josh
how are you flashing the recovery?
 
BigBadBere
Old
(Last edited by BigBadBere; 28th February 2014 at 04:38 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2010
USB Debugging enabled
Boot in to bootloader(USB showing)
fastboot flash recovery twrp.img

It shows flash OK, but will not boot into recovery.

It does show entering recovery, but ends up just rebooting to system.

This is a replacement phone that i received yesterday, old phone had ViperOne 3.5 on it.
 
BD619
Old
#4  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7,815
Posts: 8,141
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Xda-Dev,NV

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you happen to use the CM Installer to unlock,root,etc?
\_(ツ)_/


Frequently Asked Questions - HTC One-M7-Sprint(m7wls) | HTC Evo 4G LTE(Jewel) | HTC One-M8-Sprint(m8_whl)
ROM Cleaner | AROMA | Remove Bloatware | Backup Apps | Install Apps/Mods
ROM Cleaner for HTC Evo 4G LTE or ROM Cleaner for HTC One
My DIY guides on how to root your HTC Evo 4G LTE | HTC One(M7)-Sprint | HTC One(M8)-Sprint


Forum Moderator
 
BigBadBere
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619 View Post
Did you happen to use the CM Installer to unlock,root,etc?
no
 
JoeNeckbone
Old
#6  
JoeNeckbone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 604
Posts: 689
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadBere View Post
USB Debugging enabled
Boot in to bootloader(USB showing)
fastboot flash recovery twrp.img

It shows flash OK, but will not boot into recovery.

It does show entering recovery, but ends up just rebooting to system.

This is a replacement phone that i received yesterday, old phone had ViperOne 3.5 on it.
Try twrp 2.6.3.0.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 2
 
bombo_b
Old
(Last edited by bombo_b; 2nd May 2014 at 03:35 PM.)
#7  
bombo_b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 84
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Port-au-prince

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadBere View Post
Hello all,

I received a replacement phone today from Sprint.

It is already updated to 4.4.X
Hboot 1.56.

I unlocked bootloader just fine, flashed TWRP 2.6.3.4...rebooted and would not boot into recovery, flashed again, same result.

I found 2.6.3.4a, flashed and same result...would not boot into recovery.

Flashed CWM and same result.

Anyone else have this issue? I tried searching, but found no result related...please post threads if I missed...

Thanks

Josh
same here but I am on stock 4.3 Hboot 1.55.00 HTCDEV unlocked Rumrunner S-OFFed. I tried every recovery Only Phillz would work but it failed to flash any custom rom (tried ViperOne 6.1 and SOKP)

I tried fastboot erase cache and fastboot format cache after flashing TWRP but it wouldnt work

Tried flashing TWRP recovery from Phillz with ROOTLINUX recovery flasher
Nothing would work

I need Help here

---------- Post added at 02:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeNeckbone View Post
Try twrp 2.6.3.0.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 2
twrp 2.6.3.0 didnt work either. I RUUed back to stock a couple of times because Phillz recovery failed to flash any rom right.
Only TWRP 2.5.00 boots but no touch
Did I help you? push the thanks button,yeah Just push it
Always Tryna get more out of every device I own.
History: Google G1(Retired)----->HTC Inspire 4G(Sold)---->HTC MyTouch 4G(Sold too)---->HTC Sensation 4G(Donated)---->HTC OneS(sold)---->Sprint HTC One M7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more