Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,230 Members 48,204 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Having an issue with S-Off. Help please?

Tip us?
 
niphoet
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
This one seems to work for everyone I give it to.
http://androidruu.com/getdownload.ph...5_signed_2.exe
I'll try it and report back in the morning. Thanks for all the help so far!
 
aooga
Old
#12  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,915
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by niphoet View Post
I'll try it and report back in the morning. Thanks for all the help so far!
Sure.

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by niphoet View Post
I'll try it and report back in the morning. Thanks for all the help so far!
Just to let you know, that rom is pretty old. You'll need to do some updating. If you don't want to do that, you can also download this one :
DOWNLOAD

But it might not work. It's worth a try though.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
niphoet
Old
(Last edited by niphoet; 2nd May 2014 at 02:29 PM.)
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Sure.

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------



Just to let you know, that rom is pretty old. You'll need to do some updating. If you don't want to do that, you can also download this one :
DOWNLOAD

But it might not work. It's worth a try though.
Neither of those worked. Here is the error I get: Link.

I guess my next step is to try to find my otg cable and try to load a rom from there, right?

------

EDIT:
I managed to get adb working in recovery using a 32-bit VM (I now remember the problems I've had in the past with x64 and adb). I installed Viper, used rumrunner to achieve S-OFF. I am still unable to flash cm11. PhilZ/CWM gives me Status 0 and TWRP just says failed. Any idea what my next step should be?

ANOTHER EDIT:
Okay, I'm able to install an older m7att build but i can't install any of the unified m7 roms.
 
bored_stupid
Old
#14  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Have you got fastboot working?
http://koush.com/post/universal-adb-driver

Read here...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...24&postcount=2

Post a fastboot getvar all when working

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to bored_stupid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aooga
Old
#15  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,915
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by niphoet View Post
Neither of those worked. Here is the error I get: Link.

I guess my next step is to try to find my otg cable and try to load a rom from there, right?

------

EDIT:
I managed to get adb working in recovery using a 32-bit VM (I now remember the problems I've had in the past with x64 and adb). I installed Viper, used rumrunner to achieve S-OFF. I am still unable to flash cm11. PhilZ/CWM gives me Status 0 and TWRP just says failed. Any idea what my next step should be?

ANOTHER EDIT:
Okay, I'm able to install an older m7att build but i can't install any of the unified m7 roms.
You should be able to install any rom. Try flashing TWRP again? Whats the exact error in TWRP.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
niphoet
Old
(Last edited by niphoet; 2nd May 2014 at 05:42 PM.)
#16  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
Have you got fastboot working?
http://koush.com/post/universal-adb-driver

Read here...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...24&postcount=2

Post a fastboot getvar all when working

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: HT36LW912065
(bootloader) imei: 354439051648014
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4322mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.240s

Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
You should be able to install any rom. Try flashing TWRP again? Whats the exact error in TWRP.
I tried TWRP 2.6.3.3 and 2.7.0.0. Here is the error in TWRP: Link

EDIT: See this. Under the section "Recovery Update" I flashed the unofficial TWRP 2.7.0.8 and it flashed the latest nightly. I guess I'm good to go now. Thanks to all for all of the help!!
 
aooga
Old
#17  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,915
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by niphoet View Post
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
......!!
Just to let you know, the error when it says "Too many links" happens when you use a USB 3 port. Android and adb don't play very nice with usb 3.

The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes