Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Swapper for root can't work

OP MyAnand13

2nd May 2014, 09:01 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I have installed cyanogenmod 11 on my galaxy mini GT-s5570. When I type free in terminal it already shows a swap of 47mb on device.

in terminal windows show initially

swap: 49148(total) 44244(used) 4904(free)
How can I expand it ? because 47mb swap file is very low amount.I have 8gb class 4 micro sd card.
Swap file created by swapper for root can't work.

Thanks in advance
2nd May 2014, 10:11 AM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyAnand13

I have installed cyanogenmod 11 on my galaxy mini GT-s5570. When I type free in terminal it already shows a swap of 47mb on device.

in terminal windows show initially

swap: 49148(total) 44244(used) 4904(free)
How can I expand it ? because 47mb swap file is very low amount.I have 8gb class 4 micro sd card.
Swap file created by swapper for root can't work.

Thanks in advance


Which version of CM11 do you use? Did you manually set swap or do you mean preconfigured? You can change the value with Performance Controls.

BUT keep in mind that your phone has 384MB of physical ram (Usable value will be even slower - i suppose ~ 300MB) --> swap ram is very slow, especially if you got a class 4 sd card.I have no clue about the used kernel, but zRam must be supported by the kernel. If the kernel does you can get a class10+ sd card and manually set a swap partitions. Any values >100MB will probably slow down your device instead of speding it up
2nd May 2014, 11:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Which version of CM11 do you use? Did you manually set swap or do you mean preconfigured? You can change the value with Performance Controls.

BUT keep in mind that your phone has 384MB of physical ram (Usable value will be even slower - i suppose ~ 300MB) --> swap ram is very slow, especially if you got a class 4 sd card.I have no clue about the used kernel, but zRam must be supported by the kernel. If the kernel does you can get a class10+ sd card and manually set a swap partitions. Any values >100MB will probably slow down your device instead of speding it up

I have downloaded and installed ROM from following link
http://d-h.st/XeT

kernel version is 2.6.35.7-androidarmv6+jenkins@piripiri209#1
and the swap ram amount is preconfigured.
Previously I installed cm10.1 RC-5 stable dev ROM. On that I used swappe for root and using this I had created swap file of 820mb on class 4 8 gb sd card and it worked fine.
2nd May 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyAnand13

I have downloaded and installed ROM from following link
http://d-h.st/XeT

kernel version is 2.6.35.7-androidarmv6+jenkins@piripiri209#1
and the swap ram amount is preconfigured.
Previously I installed cm10.1 RC-5 stable dev ROM. On that I used swappe for root and using this I had created swap file of 820mb on class 4 8 gb sd card and it worked fine.

820MB swap You made my day
2nd May 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

820MB swap You made my day

Yes I have created 820 mb swap file by swapper for root app
2nd May 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyAnand13

Yes I have created 820 mb swap file by swapper for root app

I'll install the app just for fun on a low ram device to check the performance. May be I'm kinda dumb and it runs great^^


--> FAILED lol i can't even select internal or external sd card. As the internal free space is too small i can't even try it. Awesome app
Last edited by LS.xD; 3rd May 2014 at 12:13 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes