Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] How to use Desktop/Laptop to send/receive Whatsapp messages?

OP dylansmith

23rd April 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I've been looking high and low for something that can achieve what is mentioned here, but to no avail. I would like the ability to send/receive messages directly from my Desktop without having to touch my phone (something similar to AirDroid, though unfortunately it only supports SMS).

AirDroid claimed they were able to make it work, though it requires root and other permissions that may infringe privacy rights. this leads me to believe that a similar software should exist.

any recommendations? please don't suggest emulators/BlueStacks - as the experience is suboptimal, and/or one would be required to have a separate phone number or sign out from the phone service in order to use it exclusively on the desktop.

Thanks in advance for your help!
23rd April 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #2  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Doha, Qatar
Thanks Meter: 84
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
I know you said not to mention emulators but you can use a emulator and change the IMEI and MAC Address to the same ones on your phone, then download whatsapp and you will then be able to use whatsapp on both, emulator & phone at the same time.
23rd April 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 13
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylansmith

I've been looking high and low for something that can achieve what is mentioned here, but to no avail. I would like the ability to send/receive messages directly from my Desktop without having to touch my phone (something similar to AirDroid, though unfortunately it only supports SMS).

AirDroid claimed they were able to make it work, though it requires root and other permissions that may infringe privacy rights. this leads me to believe that a similar software should exist.

any recommendations? please don't suggest emulators/BlueStacks - as the experience is suboptimal, and/or one would be required to have a separate phone number or sign out from the phone service in order to use it exclusively on the desktop.

Thanks in advance for your help!

I was going to say Bluestacks, but you said no emulators. And when you mentioned AirDroid it reminded me of something else, TeamViewer. I use TeamViewer to control my phone from the PC and vice versa (yes you can, in case you didn't know). But you need to install the main TeamViewer app, then the TeamViewer QuickSupport app, then the QS Addon for your specific device. Then you can control your phone from the PC and use WhatsApp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause

I know you said not to mention emulators but you can use a emulator and change the IMEI and MAC Address to the same ones on your phone, then download whatsapp and you will then be able to use whatsapp on both, emulator & phone at the same time.

I actually downloaded it to both and kept switching between them, so can you please tell me how do you change the IMEI and MAC Address on Bluestacks?
23rd April 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #4  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Doha, Qatar
Thanks Meter: 84
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAbounegm

I actually downloaded it to both and kept switching between them, so can you please tell me how do you change the IMEI and MAC Address on Bluestacks?

I don't really know how to change it on bluestacks but I know that 2 devices with same MAC Address can receive messages, and if they were same IMEI too they both will be able to send messages on whatsapp.
23rd April 2014, 11:52 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause

I know you said not to mention emulators but you can use a emulator and change the IMEI and MAC Address to the same ones on your phone, then download whatsapp and you will then be able to use whatsapp on both, emulator & phone at the same time.

the reason why I mentioned no emulators (and similarly, no VNC-like service.. even teamviewer falls under the same category) is that the performance is pretty bad, regardless of how high end your desktop specifications or network connection is (i.e. it can never reach something like 50fps smoothness).

preferably a native app built for this very purpose - welcoming more suggestions!

thanks!
24th April 2014, 12:51 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Fantastic idea
I am currently not sure if this is possible due to constants of the What's app service linking to phone numbers.

However, if there was a tool that can apply iMessage like functionality to What's App I would definitely download it.

Regards,

Arjun
3rd May 2014, 03:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjs1000

I am currently not sure if this is possible due to constants of the What's app service linking to phone numbers.

However, if there was a tool that can apply iMessage like functionality to What's App I would definitely download it.

Regards,

Arjun

it is 100% possible because AirDroid has achieved that before, but didn't allow it due to security vulnerabilities.

anyone got a suggestion please?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank