Post Reply

[Q] Setup wizard issues after upgrading ViperOne ROM

OP Surlyinvancouver

16th April 2014, 12:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I have been happily running ViperOne 5.8 for a while.

When trying to upgrade to the 6.0.0, after the updating apps window finished, a very persistent window kept reappearing : setup wizard has stopped working. I pressed OK a few dozen times before giving up on that.

I was able to access the notification bar and the venom tweaks were working too, so I was able to access Task Manager (through a longpress setup in tweaks in 5.8) and kill the process . I noticed that I had lost all my settings; screensaver, folders, downloaded apps were gone, etc. When I went to recovery I saw that the TWRP 2.7 I had was back to 2.6.3.3 and the red HTC warning was back.

Now I'm back to my Nandroided ? Viperone 5.8 no issues.

I haven't seen any reports on this yet. Thoughts or solutions?

Thanks for the great work everyone on this forum.
16th April 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,075
 
3,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surlyinvancouver

I have been happily running ViperOne 5.8 for a while.

When trying to upgrade to the 6.0.0, after the updating apps window finished, a very persistent window kept reappearing : setup wizard has stopped working. I pressed OK a few dozen times before giving up on that.

I was able to access the notification bar and the venom tweaks were working too, so I was able to access Task Manager (through a longpress setup in tweaks in 5.8) and kill the process . I noticed that I had lost all my settings; screensaver, folders, downloaded apps were gone, etc. When I went to recovery I saw that the TWRP 2.7 I had was back to 2.6.3.3 and the red HTC warning was back.

Now I'm back to my Nandroided ? Viperone 5.8 no issues.

I haven't seen any reports on this yet. Thoughts or solutions?

Thanks for the great work everyone on this forum.

5.8 to 6.0 is a full version update do a factory reset / wipe before install
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

5.8 to 6.0 is a full version update do a factory reset / wipe before install

Thank you, that did it.

Funny, I thought I'd tried that , but only after flashing the 6.0.

Thanks again from a Noob.
3rd May 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Viper install stuck in boot loop after complete
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surlyinvancouver

I have been happily running ViperOne 5.8 for a while.

When trying to upgrade to the 6.0.0, after the updating apps window finished, a very persistent window kept reappearing : setup wizard has stopped working. I pressed OK a few dozen times before giving up on that.

I was able to access the notification bar and the venom tweaks were working too, so I was able to access Task Manager (through a longpress setup in tweaks in 5.8) and kill the process . I noticed that I had lost all my settings; screensaver, folders, downloaded apps were gone, etc. When I went to recovery I saw that the TWRP 2.7 I had was back to 2.6.3.3 and the red HTC warning was back.

Now I'm back to my Nandroided ? Viperone 5.8 no issues.

I haven't seen any reports on this yet. Thoughts or solutions?

Thanks for the great work everyone on this forum.









I have installed the viperone on my htc one m8. however after the install and it reboots. it reboots back to boot loader and I am currently stuck there. Any help would be appreciated.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes