Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I figured out WiFi is causing my Screen of Death issue. Now what?

OP Nwwolf1

27th February 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #41  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,273
 
4,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwwolf1

Oh really? Why is that?

Yea for now u wouldn't give up your mdk bootloader either... OTA to 4.4 and your options go with it. I realize that now your only running tw cuz of this issue but someone on here should be able to help you

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #42  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,273
 
4,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
I'd say learn how to take a logcat and keep asking on here and someone will be able to shed some light on this.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #43  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

Yea for now u wouldn't give up your mdk bootloader either... OTA to 4.4 and your options go with it. I realize that now your only running tw cuz of this issue but someone on here should be able to help you

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

In not running touch wiz. I'm running cm10.2
27th February 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #44  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,273
 
4,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwwolf1

In not running touch wiz. I'm running cm10.2

My bad I think I was just confusing myself or mixing posts up. I thought you or the other guy in here said they went back to TW.


Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #45  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

My bad I think I was just confusing myself or mixing posts up. I thought you or the other guy in here said they went back to TW.


Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

That's what I thought too, but he said he went back to cm10.2 since this problem only exists on KitKat.

I believe I attached a logcat on page 1 of this thread but I guess nobody really looked at it. I don't know where to go from here, I'm not leaving KitKat!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to thesoldier For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #46  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,273
 
4,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesoldier

That's what I thought too, but he said he went back to cm10.2 since this problem only exists on KitKat.

I believe I attached a logcat on page 1 of this thread but I guess nobody really looked at it. I don't know where to go from here, I'm not leaving KitKat!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

I know it I love KitKat myself and won't be going back. It's a shame no one took a look at your logcat , I know there are some straight geniuses on here that would be able to figure it out. Maybe try to track one of them down lol

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2014, 06:49 AM   |  #47  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

I know it I love KitKat myself and won't be going back. It's a shame no one took a look at your logcat , I know there are some straight geniuses on here that would be able to figure it out. Maybe try to track one of them down lol

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

For some reason I never saw this post lol.

Anyways, thought I'd revive this with one last try. I thought the offical KitKat build from Verizon would fix this issue, but of course...NOPE. It's tolerable on TouchWiz because it will automatically reboot within a minute, but on AOSP it requires a battery pull. Definitely missing AOSP Last time it happened, WiFi simply stopped responding and when the screen turned off, it forced a reboot.

So, I'm attaching a logcat, dmesg, and last_kmsg...Hopefully someone (ANYONE) can find something helpful. If not, MDK S4 for sale! lol
Attached Files
File Type: zip s4_crash_logs.zip - [Click for QR Code] (150.4 KB, 4 views)
3rd May 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #48  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,273
 
4,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesoldier

For some reason I never saw this post lol.

Anyways, thought I'd revive this with one last try. I thought the offical KitKat build from Verizon would fix this issue, but of course...NOPE. It's tolerable on TouchWiz because it will automatically reboot within a minute, but on AOSP it requires a battery pull. Definitely missing AOSP Last time it happened, WiFi simply stopped responding and when the screen turned off, it forced a reboot.

So, I'm attaching a logcat, dmesg, and last_kmsg...Hopefully someone (ANYONE) can find something helpful. If not, MDK S4 for sale! lol

Try going here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2274119 and just ask nicely lol they prefer you use Pastebin for your logs though so for better results I'd do that. Sorry you're still having this problem. I hope one of them can help

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #49  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

Try going here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2274119 and just ask nicely lol they prefer you use Pastebin for your logs though so for better results I'd do that. Sorry you're still having this problem. I hope one of them can help

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Cool I just posted there, hopefully someone can help out. Thanks for the link!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes