Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,519 Members 38,388 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HELP! Update system software.

Tip us?
 
LeHartx
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] HELP! Update system software.

I keep getting that software update thing after which I downloaded it and tried to install it but failed.

I have rooted my HTC One as well.

Any advice on this? I am currently downloading Android Revolution HD One 53.0 custom ROM, am I doing the right thing? As far as I know, I need to download a custom ROM right? Also, all I need to install that ROM is by going into bootloader mode, and then into recovery and finding that .rom right?

Will all my data/apps and other stuffs in my phone be deleted after installing that ROM? Please advise. Thanks alot. In a mess right now..
 
kyleallen5000
Old
#2  
kyleallen5000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 164
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeHartx View Post
I keep getting that software update thing after which I downloaded it and tried to install it but failed.

I have rooted my HTC One as well.

Any advice on this? I am currently downloading Android Revolution HD One 53.0 custom ROM, am I doing the right thing? As far as I know, I need to download a custom ROM right? Also, all I need to install that ROM is by going into bootloader mode, and then into recovery and finding that .rom right?

Will all my data/apps and other stuffs in my phone be deleted after installing that ROM? Please advise. Thanks alot. In a mess right now..
Need a bit more information before i can try and help:

-Is your bootloader unlocked?
-Do you have a custom recovery installed such as TWRP or CWM?

If the above are true then you are on the right path. You should download the ROM of choice, navigate to your recovery, perform a standard wipe, install the new ROM.

Unfortunately yes you will be losing the apps/data portions when you wipe. But anything that isn't part of the system will be preserved (AKA your internal SD card).
Current Devices

HTC One XL: VIPER ROM

HTC One: ARHD 31.5

OnePlus One: MultiROM

Nook Tablet:: JadyCane & CM7
 
LeHartx
Old
(Last edited by LeHartx; 3rd May 2014 at 06:50 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleallen5000 View Post
Need a bit more information before i can try and help:

-Is your bootloader unlocked?
-Do you have a custom recovery installed such as TWRP or CWM?

If the above are true then you are on the right path. You should download the ROM of choice, navigate to your recovery, perform a standard wipe, install the new ROM.

Unfortunately yes you will be losing the apps/data portions when you wipe. But anything that isn't part of the system will be preserved (AKA your internal SD card).
My bootloader is unlocked. I have TWRP installed. What do I actually wipe? Everything? Mine is a HTC One M7, so it doesn't have an internal SD card. D:

Also, will the software updates stop bothering me? I can't seem to get rid of it. And I'm doing it because of the purple tint in the camera photos, does the new ROM solves it?
 
zelendel
Old
#4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10,991
Posts: 14,381
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeHartx View Post
My bootloader is unlocked. I have TWRP installed. What do I actually wipe? Everything? Mine is a HTC One M7, so it doesn't have an internal SD card. D:

Also, will the software updates stop bothering me? I can't seem to get rid of it. And I'm doing it because of the purple tint in the camera photos, does the new ROM solves it?
That the issue. Your bootloader has to be locked with stock recovery.

No this doesn't fix it. You would have to send it in to be fixed.

Bat cave One





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
nkk71
Old
#5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,832
Posts: 5,725
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
That the issue. Your bootloader has to be locked with stock recovery.

No this doesn't fix it. You would have to send it in to be fixed.

Bat cave One
I'm not sure that bootloader needs to be locked for OTAs even with S-On. I take the US Dev Edition as an example, which by default comes bootloader unlocked and S-On, and receives OTAs just fine (obviously stock recovery and stock ROM).

For RUUs even the Dev Edition needs to be relocked (ironically) with S-On, but not for OTAs.
 
LeHartx
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
I'm still not sure whether to do it yet or wait till the latest version is out, may I know when is it available roughly? D:
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes