Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help unlocking bootloader

OP pinktheater

3rd May 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #1  
pinktheater's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Metropolis
Thanks Meter: 208
 
631 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Hey guys, I finally got my phone!

I want to install a custom ROM but first I need to unlock the bootloader and I'm having a nightmare doing it. Is there an specific thread where I can ask for help with, since I didn't find any I created this one but feel free to delete it.

On the FAQ thread I found this:

"First you need to unlock your bootloader. To do that, go to http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader. On the supported devices list, choose "HTC One (M8)"

If I go there, i am able to get up to step #5, but when I enter the command "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" I get that "fastboot" is not a recognized command.



I've searched on Google, but all thread (or most of them) only point to old devices or another brands. I also tried to use a root toolkit, but everything takes to that #5 step.

What am I missing here?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Error fastboot.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	2723520  
3rd May 2014, 05:28 PM   |  #2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,233
 
13,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinktheater

Hey guys, I finally got my phone!

I want to install a custom ROM but first I need to unlock the bootloader and I'm having a nightmare doing it. Is there an specific thread where I can ask for help with, since I didn't find any I created this one but feel free to delete it.

On the FAQ thread I found this:

"First you need to unlock your bootloader. To do that, go to http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader. On the supported devices list, choose "HTC One (M8)"

If I go there, i am able to get up to step #5, but when I enter the command "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" I get that "fastboot" is not a recognized command.



I've searched on Google, but all thread (or most of them) only point to old devices or another brands. I also tried to use a root toolkit, but everything takes to that #5 step.

What am I missing here?

This will help you set up adb/fastboot in your System path, the rest is as you've already done...

http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-set...dows-tutorial/
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #3  
pinktheater's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Metropolis
Thanks Meter: 208
 
631 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

This will help you set up adb/fastboot in your System path, the rest is as you've already done...

http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-set...dows-tutorial/

Thanks mate! I finally did it, but damn it took a lot of work
3rd May 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #4  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,233
 
13,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinktheater

Thanks mate! I finally did it, but damn it took a lot of work

If you now have adb in your system path you can run the commands in any location - makes life a LOT easier moving forward (and it applies to ALL Android devices)
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes