Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Going from 4.0.3 to 4.4/4.3 performance

OP Gabe3

3rd May 2014, 05:01 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I'm using the Virtuous Inquisition rom with android 4.0.3. if I go to a rom with 4.3 or 4.4 will performance increase or decrease? also, can I keep my settings and apps or do I have to start fresh?

thanks.
3rd May 2014, 01:35 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 729
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
You will need to full wipe and reinstall everything again.
I've never used Virtuous Inquisition, so I don't know about performance, but latest 4.4 roms we have are really smooth. If you want to test, just make a backup of your current setup, then install any new. If you don't like it you can always restore to your old setup.
Though since most roms we have are based on cyanogenmod, most of them have a bug at the moment causing the system to freeze or maybe restart. Only 4.4 rom (which I know) which isn't affected by that is omnirom.
3rd May 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sajito

You will need to full wipe and reinstall everything again.
I've never used Virtuous Inquisition, so I don't know about performance, but latest 4.4 roms we have are really smooth. If you want to test, just make a backup of your current setup, then install any new. If you don't like it you can always restore to your old setup.
Though since most roms we have are based on cyanogenmod, most of them have a bug at the moment causing the system to freeze or maybe restart. Only 4.4 rom (which I know) which isn't affected by that is omnirom.

thanks. i may try that rom then since I need stability. why dont other roms like this one mention freezing under the bugs?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2530073
Last edited by Gabe3; 3rd May 2014 at 06:54 PM.
3rd May 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 729
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe3

thanks. i may try that rom then since I need stability. why dont other roms like this one mention freezing under the bugs?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2530073

It's an upstream bug from cyanogenmod itself and I think they list mostly bugs which they can fix. We still hope that cm is going to fix that soon.
3rd May 2014, 07:51 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sajito

It's an upstream bug from cyanogenmod itself and I think they list mostly bugs which they can fix. We still hope that cm is going to fix that soon.

how does omnirom compare to cyanogenmod besides the freezing bug. is one faster than the other? why would anyone use cm over omnirom? thanks.
3rd May 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 729
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe3

how does omnirom compare to cyanogenmod besides the freezing bug. is one faster than the other? why would anyone use cm over omnirom? thanks.

Well both are based on aosp, so I don't think there is a big difference in performance. Cyanogenmod has more settings than omnirom, but I think differences are not that big. There are some settings only the one rom or the other has, so I think you should just try.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sajito For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes