Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Bootloop, nothing works

OP Casparovic

1st May 2014, 09:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hi guys,

So I'm a little lost. After flashing the 01/05 ParanoidAndroid rom for the D802, I got stuck in a bootloop. So I did a hard reset and entered twrp recovery again. There I flashed the other rom which was working before, but also after that I got stuck in a bootloop. Now I don't know what to do anymore.
I already tried to flash the kdz file, but it didn't work.

Can someone please help me out?
1st May 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casparovic

Hi guys,

So I'm a little lost. After flashing the 01/05 ParanoidAndroid rom for the D802, I got stuck in a bootloop. So I did a hard reset and entered twrp recovery again. There I flashed the other rom which was working before, but also after that I got stuck in a bootloop. Now I don't know what to do anymore.
I already tried to flash the kdz file, but it didn't work.

Can someone please help me out?

According to this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688144

You can't flash a kdz only a tot, not tried it yet though. Though I'm in the same situation

There is also mention on the PA page that you need an official LG KK modem image to flash after the ROM & GAPPS: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502789

Though that's as far as I've got so far. Will let you know once I've got mine working again.

---------- Post added at 10:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

There is this: http://xda-university.com/as-a-user/...rom-a-bootloop Generic advice on how to fix a boot loop

And this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZBHZQEI96o which is how to install TWRP and later on in the vid, how to get into TWRP, since I figure if people are looking more info is always better

More as I get it.
1st May 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by praxis22

According to this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688144

You can't flash a kdz only a tot, not tried it yet though. Though I'm in the same situation

There is also mention on the PA page that you need an official LG KK modem image to flash after the ROM & GAPPS: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502789

Though that's as far as I've got so far. Will let you know once I've got mine working again.

---------- Post added at 10:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

There is this: http://xda-university.com/as-a-user/...rom-a-bootloop Generic advice on how to fix a boot loop

And this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZBHZQEI96o which is how to install TWRP and later on in the vid, how to get into TWRP, since I figure if people are looking more info is always better

More as I get it.

So, you have the exact same problem? I don't know what to do anymore :P
I will keep on looking, let's keep each other up to date
2nd May 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by praxis22

According to this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688144

You can't flash a kdz only a tot, not tried it yet though. Though I'm in the same situation

There is also mention on the PA page that you need an official LG KK modem image to flash after the ROM & GAPPS: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502789

Though that's as far as I've got so far. Will let you know once I've got mine working again.

---------- Post added at 10:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

There is this: http://xda-university.com/as-a-user/...rom-a-bootloop Generic advice on how to fix a boot loop

And this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZBHZQEI96o which is how to install TWRP and later on in the vid, how to get into TWRP, since I figure if people are looking more info is always better

More as I get it.

The first link you proposed worked for me. Very nice Thnx. You should try it also
2nd May 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Yup, I can get into download mode and TWRP, and I've tried to flash what I had (0430) twice, in various ways. No joy. Now I'm going to try sideloading a file via ADB in TWRP, as I'll need gapps and possibly the LG KK modem too. I'm just documenting it all, so I have a complete workup of what worked and what didn't. I'm sure somebody else will find it useful, (as will I) when it inevitably happens again. Luckily I have my old Galaxy S (Omni 4.4.2) that I can jump my SIM into, so I at least have a phone
The Following User Says Thank You to praxis22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Video
Video of somebody unbricking a phone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqw_LFuyHbE AT&T in this case but the same procedure as above for the d802 in general.
The Following User Says Thank You to praxis22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Storage
After many hours of diligent back and forth last night, I gave in and restored from a backup, my last stop before flashing back to stock. That actually worked. So I'm back to the point of being rooted with TWRP installed, (Seriously, make a backup) but at least I have still have all my data.

I've actually used the stock LG interface for more time now than I did after I picked up the phone. God it's awful. I can understand that as an OEM, you need sales bullet points, and something to fill a product launch with, as such you largely have to add to what exists in stock android. But I doubt they ever did any UX tests, either that, or the focus group they had were all "normals" who've never seen a smartphone before. But I digress..

I spent most of the time getting adb to work again, and experimenting with that. I re-installed the drivers, available at my first link above. After that nothing seemed to work, so I manually found the 64bit USB installer and ran that, still no joy, then rebooted the PC. Once I reconnected the phone, then the installers kicked in, though MPT failed. But all you really need is the ADB interface.

I also found out that "adb devices" only ever sees the phone when it's booted into the system, and stuck at the boot animation after the LG logo. If I booted into TWRP recovery it, even in sideload mode, Nothing worked.

adb is part of the SDK which you can get from here:
http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Though all you need is a couple of binaries and a few dll's, and you can find all that in IORoot25 here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9#post45692679
File: http://bit.ly/1hPLwsj

These are basic guides for adb:
http://www.londatiga.net/it/how-to-u...and-line-tool/ (basic)
http://www.herongyang.com/Android/ad...l-Command.html (push & pull)
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...multiple-files (advanced pull)
http://www.androidcentral.com/androi...ou-should-know (10 cmds)

The adb shell is UNIX, not DOS, just FYI. these have you covered:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=502010
http://developer.android.com/tools/h...#shellcommands

I used it to upload more PA roms, gapps, etc. None of which worked. regardless of how I did it. Dirty or clean, (with the exception of fully wiping data.) I found the most useful functionality was the command, adb reboot recovery, which will drop you directly into TWRP without the need for the Vulcan handshake. Which is often frustrating, a bit hit & miss, at least for me.

I tried to flash 0429, 0430 & 0501, none of them worked, though I was on 0430 when it borked.

Just FYI

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes