XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

[Q] Broken Screen Chalenge

2nd May 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hello everyone! I have a LG Optimus G e977 (similar to e975) and I'm having kind of a very annoying problem. The bottom of my touch screen is broken and I'm not being able to "finish" the initial set up of CyanoGenMod 11. I was able to bypass every page by sliding to the left, but I can't do it on the very last page.

USB debugging is not activated because i haven't even got a chance to go into settings. My phone doesn't appear on "ADB" devices list. Is there anyway I can control the phone from my PC? (Windows 7).

Maybe theres a file inside the phone's internal storage indicating that the initial setup has already been donde. Could I replace it with somene else's file who already has gone through this process?

Excuse my English since it's not my mother language, but I do understand perfectly well anything written.

I really thank you for your time and patience.
2nd May 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 530
 
2,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
On PC with an archive manager like 7zip or WinRar, open CM11 zip as archive and browse to /system/app and delete CMaccount.apk . Make sure to not unzip the rom otherwise you will need to sign the zip as well. Then install edited rom.
3rd May 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

On PC with an archive manager like 7zip or WinRar, open CM11 zip as archive and browse to /system/app and delete CMaccount.apk . Make sure to not unzip the rom otherwise you will need to sign the zip as well. Then install edited rom.

This almost worked. As soon as I started the phone for the first time with this new ROM, just had to choose a language and hit next, but then the "Configuration app" crashed, the screen stayed black with the battery and signal icons on top and I was unable to do anything from there.

Maybe this app saves some config files/flags inside the phone and someone can send me those in a zip file or something? So I can trick the phone as if it had already been configured.

Thanks!
3rd May 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 530
 
2,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Sorry. Wasn't aware that was tied to anything important at all as it is non essential to anything necessary in the phone. I never set up the CM account and always uninstall the app and have never had an problems. You might have to remove another app like Setupwizard or something along those sorts. Haven't opened up a straight CM rom zip in a bit so can't remember off the top of my head.
3rd May 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Sorry. Wasn't aware that was tied to anything important at all as it is non essential to anything necessary in the phone. I never set up the CM account and always uninstall the app and have never had an problems. You might have to remove another app like Setupwizard or something along those sorts. Haven't opened up a straight CM rom zip in a bit so can't remember off the top of my head.

I finally managed to complete the setup wizard. When the Google Account config set up showed up, it was the only moment when the screen rotation worked.


1) Slide screens until the google Account set up
2) Rotate the screen
3) follow the registration wizard normally without rotating back to normal position.
4) when the "finish" button appeared at the end, i was able to click on it

Thank you very much for your attention!!
3rd May 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 530
 
2,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiegoRC

I finally managed to complete the setup wizard. When the Google Account config set up showed up, it was the only moment when the screen rotation worked.


1) Slide screens until the google Account set up
2) Rotate the screen
3) follow the registration wizard normally without rotating back to normal position.
4) when the "finish" button appeared at the end, i was able to click on it

Thank you very much for your attention!!

Nice! Glad all is as well as it could be at this point. You're welcome.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank