Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Connect ALL THE THINGS with Xender

Smartphones, with all of their all connectivity options courtesy of OEMs, can easily connect themselves … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Wanted to join the ZU club but....

OP tdamocles

4th May 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I purchased a used ZU c6806 for ATT off of swappa. Right off the bat I could not get cell network to connect for voice. I'm coming from an ATT note 3 FYI. Well, I called ATT to see if I needed to do anything to make the change but they said I could just insert the SIM from the Note 3 and I would get voice(at least.) It still gave a fit and it was getting late so I put it aside. Later the next day I tried again and it worked, so I thought. Went a day using it and I lost cell signal and could not get it back. Is there something here that I am missing that I could try to regain signal? The phone sees that there is no SIM inserted and knows when one is inserted. Could there just be bum radios on this unit? In the mean time I updated to 757 from 4.2.2 with no change in the no signal issue. I see in the older firmware the network operators can be chosen but on kit kat I don't have that option in the menu.


thanks,

Tom
4th May 2014, 03:52 AM   |  #2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
2,998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

I purchased a used ZU c6806 for ATT off of swappa. Right off the bat I could not get cell network to connect for voice. I'm coming from an ATT note 3 FYI. Well, I called ATT to see if I needed to do anything to make the change but they said I could just insert the SIM from the Note 3 and I would get voice(at least.) It still gave a fit and it was getting late so I put it aside. Later the next day I tried again and it worked, so I thought. Went a day using it and I lost cell signal and could not get it back. Is there something here that I am missing that I could try to regain signal? The phone sees that there is no SIM inserted and knows when one is inserted. Could there just be bum radios on this unit? In the mean time I updated to 757 from 4.2.2 with no change in the no signal issue. I see in the older firmware the network operators can be chosen but on kit kat I don't have that option in the menu.


thanks,

Tom

There has been one or two people that have has a loose antenna in their ZU, only way to tell is to take the back off. Maybe that is why the last owner was selling?
4th May 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

There has been one or two people that have has a loose antenna in their ZU, only way to tell is to take the back off. Maybe that is why the last owner was selling?

Can I downgrade to 681 firmware without problems?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
4th May 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
2,998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

Can I downgrade to 681 firmware without problems?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

Not with Sony tools, but you can with flashtool and FTF's. But 757 is much better (fewer bugs) than 681.
4th May 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

Not with Sony tools, but you can with flashtool and FTF's. But 757 is much better (fewer bugs) than 681.

I just wanted to see if I can regain some signal. Which FTF is the best.? the unbranded or the generic?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
4th May 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

I just wanted to see if I can regain some signal. Which FTF is the best.? the unbranded or the generic?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

Try Generic version ...
4th May 2014, 04:37 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Could I lose my emei number doing this?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
4th May 2014, 05:12 AM   |  #8  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
2,998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

Could I lose my emei number doing this?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

only if you downgrade to a 4.2 FTF
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Flashback didn't fix the problem. Back to Swappa.... This sucks...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
Last edited by tdamocles; 4th May 2014 at 03:46 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes