Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,848 Members 36,461 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can Cortana be installed on Surface Pro 2?

Tip us?
 
incisivekeith
Old
#1  
incisivekeith's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,190
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Can Cortana be installed on Surface Pro 2?

I couldn't find anything on the net, which discussed installing Cortana on a Surface Pro 2. Has anyone looked into this?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note GT-N7000 (international)
ROM: Criskelo 4.0.4 ICS ROM XXLRK v11.2
Modem: XXLRK
Kernel: speedmod k 3-13
 
SixSixSevenSeven
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,620
Join Date: Dec 2012
Its part of windows phone 8 only so no
 
incisivekeith
Old
#3  
incisivekeith's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,190
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven View Post
Its part of windows phone 8 only so no
Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note GT-N7000 (international)
ROM: Criskelo 4.0.4 ICS ROM XXLRK v11.2
Modem: XXLRK
Kernel: speedmod k 3-13
 
SixSixSevenSeven
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,620
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith View Post
Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.
Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)
 
incisivekeith
Old
#5  
incisivekeith's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,190
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven View Post
Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)
Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note GT-N7000 (international)
ROM: Criskelo 4.0.4 ICS ROM XXLRK v11.2
Modem: XXLRK
Kernel: speedmod k 3-13
 
SixSixSevenSeven
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,620
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith View Post
Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?
It is physically impossible for us to do so, it isn't a case of whether anyone is interested or not, we simply cannot do it.

And why the fixation with the surface? Any hack to get cortana would be a global windows 8 thing not surface specific (hell, you'd have to go out of your way to make it surface specific)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more