FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Can Cortana be installed on Surface Pro 2?

1,243 posts
Thanks Meter: 76
 
By incisivekeith, Senior Member on 4th May 2014, 06:25 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I couldn't find anything on the net, which discussed installing Cortana on a Surface Pro 2. Has anyone looked into this?
 
 
4th May 2014, 12:25 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Its part of windows phone 8 only so no
6th May 2014, 10:24 PM |#3  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Its part of windows phone 8 only so no

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.
6th May 2014, 10:27 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)
9th May 2014, 04:06 PM |#5  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?
9th May 2014, 07:43 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?

It is physically impossible for us to do so, it isn't a case of whether anyone is interested or not, we simply cannot do it.

And why the fixation with the surface? Any hack to get cortana would be a global windows 8 thing not surface specific (hell, you'd have to go out of your way to make it surface specific)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes