FORUMS

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

PSA: Having cellular connectivity or texting issues tonight?

You’re not alone…Tonight, many users are experiencing a myriad … more

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Can Cortana be installed on Surface Pro 2?

1,243 posts
Thanks Meter: 76
 
By incisivekeith, Senior Member on 4th May 2014, 06:25 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I couldn't find anything on the net, which discussed installing Cortana on a Surface Pro 2. Has anyone looked into this?
 
 
4th May 2014, 12:25 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Its part of windows phone 8 only so no
6th May 2014, 10:24 PM |#3  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Its part of windows phone 8 only so no

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.
6th May 2014, 10:27 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)
9th May 2014, 04:06 PM |#5  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?
9th May 2014, 07:43 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?

It is physically impossible for us to do so, it isn't a case of whether anyone is interested or not, we simply cannot do it.

And why the fixation with the surface? Any hack to get cortana would be a global windows 8 thing not surface specific (hell, you'd have to go out of your way to make it surface specific)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes