Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

M8 Constantly Rebooting

OP noaone

3rd May 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hi Guys,

I just got my replacement M8 from AT&T yesterday. After obtaining root, S-OFF, and flashing a ROM the phone boots up, goes to the HTC lockscreen for about 4-5 seconds, freezes immediately (ie does not respond to touch) and then proceeds to reboot. This has been going on for the last 24 hours.

Im currently running ViperOne 1.50 with TWRP 2.7.0.4, but I've tried flashing Philz and a few other roms just to see if it is a common occurance and it is.

I'm thinking that I may have to bring it back to the carrier to see if I am able to exchange it. Hopefully I will be, but in the meantime any assistance or insight you guys can provide would be awesome.
3rd May 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
I forgot to mention that I had an old Philz backup from my previous M8 stored to my MicroSD, which I have attempted to restore, with the same results.

Im currently attempting to check the integrity of the internal storage via "check SmartSD" option in bootloader mode. Hopefully I can figure out exactly what is going on.
3rd May 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #3  
mr.dj26's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by noaone

Hi Guys,

I just got my replacement M8 from AT&T yesterday. After obtaining root, S-OFF, and flashing a ROM the phone boots up, goes to the HTC lockscreen for about 4-5 seconds, freezes immediately (ie does not respond to touch) and then proceeds to reboot. This has been going on for the last 24 hours.

Im currently running ViperOne 1.50 with TWRP 2.7.0.4, but I've tried flashing Philz and a few other roms just to see if it is a common occurance and it is.

I'm thinking that I may have to bring it back to the carrier to see if I am able to exchange it. Hopefully I will be, but in the meantime any assistance or insight you guys can provide would be awesome.

go to fastboot mode and type fastboot erase cache

reboot

make a factory reset from ur recovery. (not necessary)

hope it helps
3rd May 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.dj26

go to fastboot mode and type fastboot erase cache

reboot

make a factory reset from ur recovery. (not necessary)

hope it helps

Thanks for the response. Already ran the fast boot erase cache command. Seemed to help in at least prolonging the rebooting. But it starts again nonetheless. It's strange; it only seems to start after I've connected to my SSID. It reboots into setup mode repeatedly without saving data.
4th May 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #5  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 201
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by noaone

Hi Guys,

I just got my replacement M8 from AT&T yesterday. After obtaining root, S-OFF, and flashing a ROM the phone boots up, goes to the HTC lockscreen for about 4-5 seconds, freezes immediately (ie does not respond to touch) and then proceeds to reboot. This has been going on for the last 24 hours.

Im currently running ViperOne 1.50 with TWRP 2.7.0.4, but I've tried flashing Philz and a few other roms just to see if it is a common occurance and it is.

I'm thinking that I may have to bring it back to the carrier to see if I am able to exchange it. Hopefully I will be, but in the meantime any assistance or insight you guys can provide would be awesome.

Get official 2.7.0.2 from their site. Reflash recovery.
Fastboot flash recovery twrp.img
Fastboot erase cache
Go to recovery, wipe dalvik, cache, system
Reflash Rom.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th May 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #6  
Phoneguy589's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag S.E. Florida
Thanks Meter: 321
 
1,783 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Did you install any kernels or try undervolting at all? I agree it shouldn't be rebooting as it is doing. Other thought is to do a full wipe data reset.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th May 2014, 05:38 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoneguy589

Did you install any kernels or try undervolting at all? I agree it shouldn't be rebooting as it is doing. Other thought is to do a full wipe data reset.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I was running Elemental 0.9 when I backed up Viper on my previous device, but I was not underclocking......I remember I had an issue siimilar to this in the past due to selecting the AT&T variant when actually flashing the rom as opposed to selecting the International variant, installing the rom, and then selecting AT&T at the setup screen.

I appreciate everyone's help. Ive tried most of these methods, but Im sure I probably missed a step along the way.

I am going to try to do this all over again....hopefully I can discern what the problem is.
4th May 2014, 07:46 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther

Get official 2.7.0.2 from their site. Reflash recovery.
Fastboot flash recovery twrp.img
Fastboot erase cache
Go to recovery, wipe dalvik, cache, system
Reflash Rom.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

so i've gone through these steps pretty religiously 3 times, and each time seems to be elongating the time between boot, setup, and eventual reboot. the last time I thought I licked it, but sure enough it started the rebooting again and even went into a period of rapid bootlooping. (!?)

This is really weird. I think its a problem with the actual network adapter. Everytime I start to enter my wifi settings (specifically entering my proxy/static IP) it freezes and reboots.

Im just going to take this thing back to the store tomorrow. I love this phone and Im sure this is a fluke.

Again, thanks for your help, bros.

CJerk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank