Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Location method problem

OP choice2rejoice

14th April 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
When I switch to 'Power saving' mode under Location method, my GPS is switching on too. But, Power saving mode is WiFi + mobile. When I switch off GPS, the whole Location thing is switching off.

I can't find something about this, so maybe someone has an idea?
14th April 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #2  
Zoddex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 42
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by choice2rejoice

When I switch to 'Power saving' mode under Location method, my GPS is switching on too. But, Power saving mode is WiFi + mobile. When I switch off GPS, the whole Location thing is switching off.

I can't find something about this, so maybe someone has an idea?

Try resetting the phone by taking the battery out when on
Last edited by Zoddex; 14th April 2014 at 10:57 PM.
15th April 2014, 01:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Thanks, but didn't help. And I already have done a factory reset and formatting

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
15th April 2014, 05:44 PM   |  #4  
Zoddex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 42
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by choice2rejoice

Thanks, but didn't help. And I already have done a factory reset and formatting

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Sorry I guess I misunderstood your question...

If you tap off the toggle that says GPS, yes that turns off all locations services... Is working as designed.
15th April 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Really strange.
I got 3 options.
1. High accuracy (wifi+gps+mobile)
2. Power saving (wifi+mobile)
3. GPS only

You're saying, that option 2 is not existing?
It should only use wifi+mobile. NOT gps.
So it's not working properly. Before the update to NC9 firmware, it was working fine.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
15th April 2014, 06:44 PM   |  #6  
Zoddex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 42
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quoting you..... "When I switch off GPS, the whole Location thing is switching off"
Yes that is how it works, if you tap the GPS toggle from the notifications......

Now... for this..."When I switch to 'Power saving' mode under Location method, my GPS is switching on too" let me do some test and get back to you...
19th April 2014, 10:53 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Well, yesterday I flashed back to the NC4 firmware and it's working again

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th May 2014, 10:25 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Flashed another NC9, and again the same problem. Guess that's why there are so few NC9 firmwares.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
location
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes