FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[GUIDE]For Flashing Baseband/Modem/Bootloader N9005

3,031 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,982
 
By fahadali2315, Senior Member on 4th May 2014, 09:30 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
THIS IS A COMPLETE NOOB FRIENDLY GUIDE FOR FLASHING BOOTLOADERS,MODEMS/BASEBAND.

Requirements :
  1. A PC
  2. USB 3.0 DATA CABLE (2.0 SHOULD WORK TOO)
  3. ODIN 3.07 0R 3.09
  4. NOTE3
  5. ALSO PATIENCE

INSTRUCTIONS


NORMAL METHOD


Quote:

1.Power off your phone ( Don't Restart)
2.Press Power + Volume Down + Home buttons until you see download mode .
3. Attach it your PC and open ODIN 3.07 OR 3.09
4. Select AP/PDA and ADD your .tar file or .bin file
5. START
6.It will restart itself .
Go to Settings>> About Device >> and Check Your baseband/bootloader has changed or not.
If not start the procedure again . I did it twice to make it work.

Always make sure KIES is disabled ... sometimes it has been known that KIES interferes with ODIN.

KHIZAR'S METHOD

If the above procedure does not work for you try this method .

Quote:

1.Go to download mode from your OS restart menu,
2.Attach your phone to your PC.Let it detect your phone in download mode first.
3.Open ODIN 3.07 OR 3.09
4.SELECT AP/PDA and ADD your .tar file or .bin file.
5.Untick AutoReboot and Start
6.Then reboot manually into download mode without booting into the rom.
7.Then flash the modem/bootloader again.
8.Now power off the phone and then manually boot into your OS.
9.Check in About if baseband/bootloader has changed.


TRIANGLEAWAY METHOD

If the above solutions still did not work for you ...

Quote:

1.If your phone is rooted , Use Triangleaway to reset your binary counter and make it fully stock.
2.Flash stock firmware using ODIN 3.07/3.09
3.Check to see if your baseband/bootloader has changed
Link to Triangleaway Below
LINK



NOTE : For Flashing Modems you can use CP/PHONE in odin too.

For users who do not know how to flash stock please follow this great and easy guide
LINK
Last edited by fahadali2315; 4th May 2014 at 10:33 AM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to fahadali2315 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th May 2014, 09:37 AM |#2  
Khizar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8,866
 
More
Nice. Let's hope this does help users like we thought it would..

Edit- My method isn't right. You flash the first time and then manually reboot into download mode then flash the second time.

Sent From My SM-N9005 To All You Wonder Nobodies!!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th May 2014, 06:20 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
do we have to be rooted to flash modem from odin? does it trip knox?
thanks
18th May 2014, 06:25 AM |#4  
Khizar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8,866
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibraahim

do we have to be rooted to flash modem from odin? does it trip knox?
thanks

You don't need to be rooted. And I don't think knox will be tripped since you aren't flashing anything that's been modified, only flashing unsigned/modified images via Odin trips knox. But since you are flazing a signed modem you should be fine.

Sent From My SM-N9005 To All You Wonder Nobodies!!
Last edited by Khizar; 18th May 2014 at 06:28 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th May 2014, 06:35 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Nijmegen
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Hi,

Thanks for the guide. Very helpfull. I have a few Noob questions...

1. Do I have to do a full wipe/ cleam install after updating modem, or will the OS remain intact?
2. Where can I find the latest modem for N9005?
3. Is the latest modem always the best, or should I only update if I'm currently experiencing problems with the 'old' modem

Thanks...
18th May 2014, 06:38 AM |#6  
Khizar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8,866
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wijnkuip

Hi,

Thanks for the guide. Very helpfull. I have a few Noob questions...

1. Do I have to do a full wipe/ cleam install after updating modem, or will the OS remain intact?
2. Where can I find the latest modem for N9005?
3. Is the latest modem always the best, or should I only update if I'm currently experiencing problems with the 'old' modem

Thanks...

1. No need. Just follow the guide, nothing more..

2. Check the modem thread that's in the general section, if you can't find it there then you may have to pull it from the stock FW. Also some roms devs have the modem in their OTA/OP so may wanna check there as well.

3. New isn't always better. Update if you have issues, if something isn't broken then there is no need to fix it.

Sent From My SM-N9005 To All You Wonder Nobodies!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2014, 05:06 PM |#7  
Addymore's Avatar
Member
Flag Kigali
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Question Downgrade from 4.4.2 to 4.3 on N9005
Is there any method to downgrade from 4.4.2 to 4.3 bootloader on N9005?
19th May 2014, 05:11 PM |#8  
Khizar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8,866
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addymore

Is there any method to downgrade from 4.4.2 to 4.3 bootloader on N9005?

Like it's been mentioned everywhere it's NOT possible to downgrade from KK BL to JB BL on the N9005...

Sent From My SM-N9005 To All You Wonder Nobodies!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2014, 08:15 PM |#9  
Liquid Li0n's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
with the current modem/firmware/bootloader (I don't know what gives me the issue) I cannot use LTE while I have an SM-N9005 and friend of mine with unrooted Note 3 (bought in a shop in our country) has LTE 4g, while I have an Italian CSC.

If I use a modem from an other rom, will I have LTE as well and still have my Knox intact?
28th May 2014, 03:42 AM |#10  
4aces's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,103
 
More
Thanks a lot guys
Your threat was a live saver man. For a sec I thought I lost my phone. Flashed modems b 4 but thanks to u I got reminded to use the new Odin(stupid me used the old one).
10th June 2014, 02:02 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
z3x baseband
Just a quick question , im about to buy a z3x box I was wondering if it repairs baseband s/n and imei on n9005 my phone reads null/null imei unknown baseband and a wild serial number, many thanks

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes