Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Odd problem installing latest CM11 Builds (install wizard FCs)

OP Jigsjdg

4th May 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I've been trying to install the latest CM11 builds, both the April 27th NIGHTLY and the May 3rd RC5, downloaded from the androidarmv6.org site.
Been using CWM 6.4.0.7.
Steps taken: Reset to factory (wipe /data and /cache). Flashed the image. Rebooted to phone.

It reboots okay and it allows me to make an Emergency Call, but, the Android Setup wizzard stops when I select the right language (the right language comes detected/preselected, actually) and hit the 'Next' button (the kind of 'Play' arrow). It just force closes on me.

I tried reverting to the CM March 17th build which worked fine before and it does the exact same thing on me, too... while it did work before...!

What am I missing?? Hope some can help!
Thx!!!
Last edited by Jigsjdg; 4th May 2014 at 12:15 PM.
4th May 2014, 12:43 PM   |  #2  
waqaswasil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Faisalabad
Thanks Meter: 30
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jigsjdg

I've been trying to install the latest CM11 builds, both the April 27th NIGHTLY and the May 3rd RC5, downloaded from the androidarmv6.org site.
Been using CWM 6.4.0.7.
Steps taken: Reset to factory (wipe /data and /cache). Flashed the image. Rebooted to phone.

It reboots okay and it allows me to make an Emergency Call, but, the Android Setup wizzard stops when I select the right language (the right language comes detected/preselected, actually) and hit the 'Next' button (the kind of 'Play' arrow). It just force closes on me.

I tried reverting to the CM March 17th build which worked fine before and it does the exact same thing on me, too... while it did work before...!

What am I missing?? Hope some can help!
Thx!!!

Flash PhilZ Recovery, Go To Wipe Menu In PhilZ Recovery and Select "Clean to install a new ROM", Now Flash ZIP and then only wipe data, if it does not work, delete setupwizard.apk from /system/app inside the zip and flash again
The Following User Says Thank You to waqaswasil For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 04:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by waqaswasil

Flash PhilZ Recovery, Go To Wipe Menu In PhilZ Recovery and Select "Clean to install a new ROM", Now Flash ZIP and then only wipe data, if it does not work, delete setupwizard.apk from /system/app inside the zip and flash again

Thanks for your quick answer!
Going over the installation instructions for PhilZ and consecutively a new ROM, I found I had missed one step: format /system before flashing a new ROM...
With my "old" CWM 6.4.0.7 still on, I managed to install the RC5 build from androidv6arm.org... And it seems to work just fine.
4th May 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #4  
waqaswasil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Faisalabad
Thanks Meter: 30
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jigsjdg

Thanks for your quick answer!
Going over the installation instructions for PhilZ and consecutively a new ROM, I found I had missed one step: format /system before flashing a new ROM...
With my "old" CWM 6.4.0.7 still on, I managed to install the RC5 build from androidv6arm.org... And it seems to work just fine.

that's what "clean to install a new ROM" does i.e format /system, /data, /cache etc :P BTW IT IS CWM 6.0.4.7 aand you are typing 6.4.0.7, if I am wrong then please give me the link.
4th May 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by waqaswasil

that's what "clean to install a new ROM" does i.e format /system, /data, /cache etc :P BTW IT IS CWM 6.0.4.7 aand you are typing 6.4.0.7, if I am wrong then please give me the link.

LOL, me and numbers... could just as well have typed 6.0.7.4 and still meant 6.0.4.7. I got not the latest (PhilZ' ends with an 8, mine with a 7, so, likely 6.0.4.7 ;p )
I did check out PhilZ but as I had nothing I couldn't open a terminal window to install it per the instructions that come with it...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes