Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 40,366 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MODEM][FLASHABLE] ND8 Modem

Tip us?
 
TexasLTE
Old
#81  
TexasLTE's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3773
Posts: 5,197
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
... and add SOKP Milestone 1 running fine for me with Deathly Kernel and ND8 modem
(in addition to ROMs I mentioned earlier)...


The Following User Says Thank You to TexasLTE For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bilgerryan
Old
#82  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24273
Posts: 14,330
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razpr View Post
I was impatient enough to wait for ND8 ota so I downloaded the zip and flashed it through the unrooted stock recovery. Did the zip I install have the md8 modem or do I need to flash this? Will flashing this cause any trouble if I already manually updated to nd8?

Edit: unrooted

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
Yes

 
mikeymike75
Old
#83  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 86
Join Date: Jul 2012
I am using Wicked 4.3 with MK3. After verifying MD5, I was able to flash the ND8 firmware. It appeared to make the service worse (I didn't think that was possible) abd I went back to MK3.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
 
marcran75
Old
#84  
marcran75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 907
Posts: 1,010
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Syracuse,NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeymike75 View Post
I am using Wicked 4.3 with MK3. After verifying MD5, I was able to flash the ND8 firmware. It appeared to make the service worse (I didn't think that was possible) abd I went back to MK3.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
It's all about location. What works best for you is not going to work best for everyone.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to marcran75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bilgerryan
Old
#85  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24273
Posts: 14,330
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeymike75 View Post
I am using Wicked 4.3 with MK3. After verifying MD5, I was able to flash the ND8 firmware. It appeared to make the service worse (I didn't think that was possible) abd I went back to MK3.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
Did you update Profile and PRL? You should whenever you flash a modem.

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bilgerryan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sinisin
Old
#86  
sinisin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 274
Posts: 849
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
FYI I was on stock MK3 AIO. Dunno if that helps any. I was on CM11 when I flashed the AIO back in December, and ever since. Leave it to Sammy to write stuff that bricks their old stuff unless you OTA it. Front end support all while secretly killing root on the back end.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
LG G3 LGLS990-Stock-Current

Acer Iconia A200 Picasso_E/OmniRom Android 4.4.4 OC 1.5Ghz-Current

Samsung Galaxy SIII SPH-L710 d2spr/CM11 Nightlies OC 1.78Ghz
HTC Evo 4G PC36000/CM7.2 OC 1.2Ghz-Dropped n Smashed
Samsung Gravity Smart T589/Stock Rooted-Worst Phone EVER!!
HTC Sensation 4G TMOUS/CM7.2 OC 1.9Ghz-Stolen
Huawei Ascend 2 M865/Stock Rooted-Sold
2 Sanyo Zio by Kyocera M6000/Stock Rooted OC 0.9Ghz-Sold 2
 
Russ0000
Old
#87  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Did you update Profile and PRL? You should whenever you flash a modem.

I flashed nd8 Friday night and didn't notice any difference from mk3. Seeing your post I reverted to my backup of 4.3 TW updated my prl and profile and I finally do see a difference in signal strength. I was getting one bar at my house and now I have 3 bars. Thanks for the tip.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
CNexus
Old
#88  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 13257
Posts: 8,995
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Link removed. I've received too many accounts of bricking (fried boards?), even though I had no issues when flashing.


As of now, the only way I'd recommend of updating to anything ND8 related (including the modem) would be to flash the stock tar in the android dev section and go from there.

Stock tar: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2738533

With that, this thread is closed...
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!


The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
flashable, kitkat, modem, nd8, sprint
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes