FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] Hidden SSID cannot connect

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By cradle66, Junior Member on 4th May 2014, 07:09 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone.
At my work they set the wireless with two channels. One is open to everybody with an email verification and allowed users to connect for 2 hours a day and the other is a hidden SSID that the workers can use all the time. In my iphone I have no issues. I add the network manually and it connects. But on my Sony xperia Z1 when I go to wifi and add the hidden SSID it just said not in range while the other network is in range. So far I tried the Hidden SSID enabler app with no luck. Any suggestions? My device has kitkat 4.4.2 and is rooted.
Thanks in advance
 
 
4th May 2014, 07:36 AM |#2  
aarongillion63's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids MI
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cradle66

Hello everyone.
At my work they set the wireless with two channels. One is open to everybody with an email verification and allowed users to connect for 2 hours a day and the other is a hidden SSID that the workers can use all the time. In my iphone I have no issues. I add the network manually and it connects. But on my Sony xperia Z1 when I go to wifi and add the hidden SSID it just said not in range while the other network is in range. So far I tried the Hidden SSID enabler app with no luck. Any suggestions? My device has kitkat 4.4.2 and is rooted.
Thanks in advance

Yes, hidden networks are tough to get working with android. My experience with this is that when the hidden network won't connect and then not even recognize it's either that the psk/psk method don't match OR the network is Wireless-N only, which many newer android phones still can't connect to, while the iPhone can. -.- (the *only* thing apple is doing right I guess)

--
Say thanks if I was of help,

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to aarongillion63 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 07:56 AM |#3  
Account currently disabled
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarongillion63

Yes, hidden networks are tough to get working with android. My experience with this is that when the hidden network won't connect and then not even recognize it's either that the psk/psk method don't match OR the network is Wireless-N only, which many newer android phones still can't connect to, while the iPhone can. -.- (the *only* thing apple is doing right I guess)

--
Say thanks if I was of help,

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app

Apple has a flaw too however.
When a network requires you to log into a browser page with a password and username, the Iphone automatically opens the browser page to have you log into the new network.
This opens up drive by attacks to Iphone users connecting to open networks which can then Jailbreak the older firmwares.

I believe this is true, but don't rely on me. I don't even own an Iphone. lol
The Following User Says Thank You to Lgrootnoob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 04:11 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Another thing I didn't mentioned is that I cannot access routers settings. Also a friend of mine with a galaxy s4 can connect on hidden network. Anyone has the same problem?
4th May 2014, 04:59 PM |#5  
aarongillion63's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids MI
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
Can you specify what router you have? Model #?

Thanks

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Free mobile app
4th May 2014, 10:00 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you for the response...Its a belkin but the company who set up the network can only access to the routers settings. I'm not sure about the model but the thing is that I can connect with other devices and not with my Z1. It can find the non hidden network which works for a couple of hours and when I manually add the hidden network it says not in range. a friend of mine with his samsung galaxy s4 connected earlier and what I noticed was that when he was entering the hidden networks details it had the options cancel and connect. When I was doing the same the options was cancel and save. So he could connect and I just had the hidden network saying just out of range. That's all. I don't know if it works on earlier android versions like that but I cannot connect on the hidden network.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarongillion63

Can you specify what router you have? Model #?

Thanks

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Free mobile app

4th May 2014, 11:20 PM |#7  
aarongillion63's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids MI
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cradle66

Thank you for the response...Its a belkin but the company who set up the network can only access to the routers settings. I'm not sure about the model but the thing is that I can connect with other devices and not with my Z1. It can find the non hidden network which works for a couple of hours and when I manually add the hidden network it says not in range. a friend of mine with his samsung galaxy s4 connected earlier and what I noticed was that when he was entering the hidden networks details it had the options cancel and connect. When I was doing the same the options was cancel and save. So he could connect and I just had the hidden network saying just out of range. That's all. I don't know if it works on earlier android versions like that but I cannot connect on the hidden network.

Huh. I looked up your phone and it's compatible with all the 802.11 specifications, Wireless-N included. Personally I've had bad experiences with Belkin routers, I trashed mine cause the usb sharing wouldn't work . I say try creating another hidden network with your own router, just to test whether it's an issue with your phone or with your router.

--
Say thanks if I was of help,

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes