Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,444 Members 44,281 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] KK- Write to SD issue. Rooted. Tried following options...

Tip us?
 
grimloktt
Old
(Last edited by grimloktt; 4th May 2014 at 04:26 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] KK- Write to SD issue. Rooted. Tried following options...

OK. So, I'm new to KK, but I understand new system only allows Google installed apps to write to SD card. I'm having an issue where I cannot save an excel file that's on my SD card. I've done/tried the following actions:

- I flashed this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2725121
- I installed SD Fix; it said my SD card was already gtg--no need to do anything.
- I tried all options listed on this page: http://technofaq.org/posts/2014/04/f...ndroid-kitkat/

Maybe I'm not fully aware. Should I be able to save files to SD card if rooted/applied the above approaches? Is there something I'm missing?

I'm able to modify a PDF using ezPDF and save it. Perhaps it's the office applications I'm using: OfficeSuite and Hancom?
 
sequence2469
Old
#2  
sequence2469's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: socal
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimloktt View Post
OK. So, I'm new to KK, but I understand new system only allows Google installed apps to write to SD card. I'm having an issue where I cannot save an excel file that's on my SD card. I've done/tried the following actions:

- I flashed this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2725121
- I installed SD Fix; it said my SD card was already gtg--no need to do anything.
- I tried all options listed on this page: http://technofaq.org/posts/2014/04/f...ndroid-kitkat/

Maybe I'm not fully aware. Should I be able to save files to SD card if rooted/applied the above approaches? Is there something I'm missing?

I'm able to modify a PDF using ezPDF and save it. Perhaps it's the office applications I'm using: OfficeSuite and Hancom?
I installed sdfix from nextapp, and it worked fine. Have you rebooted? Maybey it is something to do with that rom I'm running http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2720631
 
grimloktt
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sequence2469 View Post
I installed sdfix from nextapp, and it worked fine. Have you rebooted? Maybey it is something to do with that rom I'm running http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2720631
Could you try replicating what I'm trying to accomplish? Have an excel on your SD card and then try to open/modify/and save it in the same spot. If it works, let me know what office app you're using?

Thnx.
 
sequence2469
Old
#4  
sequence2469's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: socal
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimloktt View Post
Could you try replicating what I'm trying to accomplish? Have an excel on your SD card and then try to open/modify/and save it in the same spot. If it works, let me know what office app you're using?

Thnx.
try using kingsoft office, I tried modifing excel spreadsheet with office suite pro and it said that app couldn't save to the sd card. I was able to make changes and save to sd card with kingsoft.
 
grimloktt
Old
(Last edited by grimloktt; 4th May 2014 at 07:22 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2010
I sent the excel to my Note 3 and tried it. It worked no problem...with OfficeSuite. Huh...

I just opened OfficeSuite Pro itself, i.e. didn't select it by selecting a file. When I click on SD card, I get a message saying application only has read access to sd card. Anyone know how to fix it?
 
grimloktt
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimloktt View Post
I sent the excel to my Note 3 and tried it. It worked no problem...with OfficeSuite. Huh...

I just opened OfficeSuite Pro itself, i.e. didn't select it by selecting a file. When I click on SD card, I get a message saying application only has read access to sd card. Anyone know how to fix it?
Yes...Kingsoft works. I would like my other apps to also work...
 
grimloktt
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2010
Ok. I updated officesuite on Note 3 and lost write access on SD card. Uninstalled and reinatalled older version and could write to SD again. It seems like something is conflicting between the programs and kk?

Sent from my SM-P905 using Tapatalk
 
sequence2469
Old
#8  
sequence2469's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: socal
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimloktt View Post
Ok. I updated officesuite on Note 3 and lost write access on SD card. Uninstalled and reinatalled older version and could write to SD again. It seems like something is conflicting between the programs and kk?

Sent from my SM-P905 using Tapatalk
Yeah that's frustrating, I was having trouble formatting my papers for school in MLA. I tried a bunch of office apps and now I use splashtop remote desktop and Microsoft office. After learning all the shortcuts in splashtop it works pretty well. Splashtop works better than Samsung remote desktop IMHO.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...