Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 52,762 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Chinese S5

Tip us?
 
Elbretzel
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Chinese S5

Good afternoon,

I am writing because I have a bothering problem with my new Galaxy S5.
I bought it in China (this is where I live), and I didn’t consider the option of having so many differences between the version here and the one in the European market (I am from Italy). First of all, the choice of language is limited to Chinese, Korean and English, but this is not an issue at all. The biggest problem is the absence of any service provided by google, such as the play store; plus, the SamsungApp store allows me to download just apps in Chinese, or at least the 99% of them is like that. Therefore, to download basic apps such as Shazam, Wordreference, Wikipedia and so on I have to rely on alternative markets. Of course Facebook doesn’t work; the strange thing is that it doesn’t work with a VPN either, which happened on my old Galaxy Nexus… well, maybe this is just a temporary network problem.

Anyway, my question is: is there any way to format the device and re-install the OS “making it believe it is an Italian smartphone”? or at least European…
I inserted *#1234#, and what I received is as follows:
AP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CSC: G9006VCHU1AND1


Thanks for your help!
 
hemander
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbretzel View Post
Good afternoon,

I am writing because I have a bothering problem with my new Galaxy S5.
I bought it in China (this is where I live), and I didn’t consider the option of having so many differences between the version here and the one in the European market (I am from Italy). First of all, the choice of language is limited to Chinese, Korean and English, but this is not an issue at all. The biggest problem is the absence of any service provided by google, such as the play store; plus, the SamsungApp store allows me to download just apps in Chinese, or at least the 99% of them is like that. Therefore, to download basic apps such as Shazam, Wordreference, Wikipedia and so on I have to rely on alternative markets. Of course Facebook doesn’t work; the strange thing is that it doesn’t work with a VPN either, which happened on my old Galaxy Nexus… well, maybe this is just a temporary network problem.

Anyway, my question is: is there any way to format the device and re-install the OS “making it believe it is an Italian smartphone”? or at least European…
I inserted *#1234#, and what I received is as follows:
AP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CSC: G9006VCHU1AND1


Thanks for your help!
Is this the dual SIM?
 
Elbretzel
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemander View Post
Is this the dual SIM?
No, it's not!
 
SupGTR
Old
(Last edited by SupGTR; 26th April 2014 at 09:36 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 12
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbretzel View Post
Good afternoon,

I am writing because I have a bothering problem with my new Galaxy S5.
I bought it in China (this is where I live), and I didn’t consider the option of having so many differences between the version here and the one in the European market (I am from Italy). First of all, the choice of language is limited to Chinese, Korean and English, but this is not an issue at all. The biggest problem is the absence of any service provided by google, such as the play store; plus, the SamsungApp store allows me to download just apps in Chinese, or at least the 99% of them is like that. Therefore, to download basic apps such as Shazam, Wordreference, Wikipedia and so on I have to rely on alternative markets. Of course Facebook doesn’t work; the strange thing is that it doesn’t work with a VPN either, which happened on my old Galaxy Nexus… well, maybe this is just a temporary network problem.

Anyway, my question is: is there any way to format the device and re-install the OS “making it believe it is an Italian smartphone”? or at least European…
I inserted *#1234#, and what I received is as follows:
AP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CSC: G9006VCHU1AND1


Thanks for your help!
Chinese version does not have Google stuff, because china government banned. VPN is banned as well. I'm a Chinese, I never buy the official version that china market have. Only buy HK version( have all Google stuff) and much cheaper.
 
Elbretzel
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupGTR View Post
Chinese version does not have Google stuff, because china government banned. VPN is banned as well. I'm a Chinese, I never buy the official version that china market have. Only buy HK version( have all Google stuff) and much cheaper.
Yeah, I honestly ignore why I haven't thought about the HK version before buying it...
Anyway right now I found a way to use the VPN, and a person I know in Italy told me there is the chance to format the phone and install the Italian OS... do you think it's possible?
 
ddxv
Old
#6  
ddxv's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 47
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbretzel View Post
Yeah, I honestly ignore why I haven't thought about the HK version before buying it...
Anyway right now I found a way to use the VPN, and a person I know in Italy told me there is the chance to format the phone and install the Italian OS... do you think it's possible?
Ah, I just replied to your other question before I saw this thread. That ROM in the other thread has Italian, I checked.
 
Elbretzel
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddxv View Post
Ah, I just replied to your other question before I saw this thread. That ROM in the other thread has Italian, I checked.
Yeah, actually as I already said I don't really care about the language of the OS, as long as I can manage to download all the apps I need and use my device without the limitations that the Chinese version has!
 
vndnguyen
Old
#8  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 696
Posts: 1,707
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbretzel View Post
Good afternoon,

I am writing because I have a bothering problem with my new Galaxy S5.
I bought it in China (this is where I live), and I didn’t consider the option of having so many differences between the version here and the one in the European market (I am from Italy). First of all, the choice of language is limited to Chinese, Korean and English, but this is not an issue at all. The biggest problem is the absence of any service provided by google, such as the play store; plus, the SamsungApp store allows me to download just apps in Chinese, or at least the 99% of them is like that. Therefore, to download basic apps such as Shazam, Wordreference, Wikipedia and so on I have to rely on alternative markets. Of course Facebook doesn’t work; the strange thing is that it doesn’t work with a VPN either, which happened on my old Galaxy Nexus… well, maybe this is just a temporary network problem.

Anyway, my question is: is there any way to format the device and re-install the OS “making it believe it is an Italian smartphone”? or at least European…
I inserted *#1234#, and what I received is as follows:
AP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CP: G9006VZNU1AND1
CSC: G9006VCHU1AND1


Thanks for your help!
You can install this app Phone INFO ★Samsung★

Go to menu --> 'CSC Changer' and see how many CSC in your phone. If it supports multi-CSC, you can change to another CSC if you are lucky.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-04-18-23-35-44.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	146.9 KB
ID:	2724941  
 
Elbretzel
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post
You can install this app Phone INFO ★Samsung★

Go to menu --> 'CSC Changer' and see how many CSC in your phone. If it supports multi-CSC, you can change to another CSC if you are lucky.
Tried to, it won't work!
By clicking the link it makes me log in to google play, and the account I have is still linked to my old device, while I can't download it without logging in.
The result has been that I downloaded it from my S5 on my old Galaxy Nexus

Thanks, though!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes