FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

What am i doing wrong?

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By theshrimp, Junior Member on 5th May 2014, 05:55 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
5th May 2014, 06:20 AM |#11  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 394
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp

That was the thread i got the CM11 build from.



I usually wipe cache, dalvik, internal, and system. Then i reboot to bootloader and flash the boot img from the rom, reboot back to recovery and flash the rom with gapps.

Maybe I'm out of recent times, but I've personally never flashed boot.IMG separately. I just wipe, flash ROM, flash kernel, wipe caches, reboot. Is this a new thing that updated partitions needs?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
 
5th May 2014, 06:22 AM |#12  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,729
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

Maybe I'm out of recent times, but I've personally never flashed boot.IMG separately. I just wipe, flash ROM, flash kernel, wipe caches, reboot. Is this a new thing that updated partitions needs?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

No change on the new setup. If you're S-on you have to flash the boot.img separately. For S-off, you don't.

Sent from my HTC device
5th May 2014, 06:22 AM |#13  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 394
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28

No change on the new setup. If you're S-on you have to flash the boot.img separately. For S-off, you don't.

Sent from my HTC device

He is s-off, so technically he shouldn't need to do that. Shouldn't make a difference though.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to numel007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 06:23 AM |#14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If i remember right people who were S-ON still had to do it that way and i only recently gained S-OFF so i still do it that way. im not sure if there is a different way for S-OFF people?
5th May 2014, 06:24 AM |#15  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,729
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp

If i remember right people who were S-ON still had to do it that way and i only recently gained S-OFF so i still do it that way. im not sure if there is a different way for S-OFF people?

You said in your original post that you're S-off, so you just need to flash the ROM zip. No need to boot to the bootloader and flash the boot.img separately.

Sent from my HTC device
5th May 2014, 06:31 AM |#16  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28

You said in your original post that you're S-off, so you just need to flash the ROM zip. No need to boot to the bootloader and flash the boot.img separately.

Sent from my HTC device

So just went and wiped everything and re flashed without going into the bootloader, and still no go. Its stuck on boot screen and the charge light still comes on so its not boot looping right?
5th May 2014, 06:33 AM |#17  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,729
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp

So just went and wiped everything and re flashed without going into the bootloader, and still no go. Its stuck on boot screen and the charge light still comes on so its not boot looping right?

How long are you waiting for it to boot up? Remember it takes several minutes for a ROM to boot after a flash, so give it a bit and see what happens.

Sent from my HTC device
5th May 2014, 06:36 AM |#18  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28

How long are you waiting for it to boot up? Remember it takes several minutes for a ROM to boot after a flash, so give it a bit and see what happens.

Sent from my HTC device

Before i re wiped it i let it sit for 30+ minutes. Its been going for about 5 or so minutes.
5th May 2014, 06:42 AM |#19  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Maybe ill just have to stick with boring old sense 5 haha. i seriously have no idea why its doing this.
5th May 2014, 11:18 AM |#20  
Senior Member
Abington, PA
Thanks Meter: 797
 
Donate to Me
More
Did you unlock bootloader with htc utility? What did you use to gain s-off?
What version is your H-BOOT?

Some roms I was flashing checked for 2.10.0000 and rejected anything else, so when I upgraded to 2.10.5555, most of the kit kat rooms took a poop on me.

Not sure if this is still an issue though. I would imagine those errors were caused by the person compiling the Roms, but may have been resolved since.
Last edited by fizbanrapper; 5th May 2014 at 11:59 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes