Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,386 Members 38,559 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What am i doing wrong?

Tip us?
 
numel007
Old
#11  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Granite Bay, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp View Post
That was the thread i got the CM11 build from.



I usually wipe cache, dalvik, internal, and system. Then i reboot to bootloader and flash the boot img from the rom, reboot back to recovery and flash the rom with gapps.
Maybe I'm out of recent times, but I've personally never flashed boot.IMG separately. I just wipe, flash ROM, flash kernel, wipe caches, reboot. Is this a new thing that updated partitions needs?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Device List: Sanyo Katana < UTStarcom Arc < LG Optimus S < HTC Evo LTE < Nexus 5
Nexus 5: SOKP (Private Build)
Kernel: ElementalX

 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#12  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,904
Posts: 3,570
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007 View Post
Maybe I'm out of recent times, but I've personally never flashed boot.IMG separately. I just wipe, flash ROM, flash kernel, wipe caches, reboot. Is this a new thing that updated partitions needs?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
No change on the new setup. If you're S-on you have to flash the boot.img separately. For S-off, you don't.

Sent from my HTC device
 
numel007
Old
#13  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Granite Bay, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28 View Post
No change on the new setup. If you're S-on you have to flash the boot.img separately. For S-off, you don't.

Sent from my HTC device
He is s-off, so technically he shouldn't need to do that. Shouldn't make a difference though.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Device List: Sanyo Katana < UTStarcom Arc < LG Optimus S < HTC Evo LTE < Nexus 5
Nexus 5: SOKP (Private Build)
Kernel: ElementalX

The Following User Says Thank You to numel007 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theshrimp
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2013
If i remember right people who were S-ON still had to do it that way and i only recently gained S-OFF so i still do it that way. im not sure if there is a different way for S-OFF people?
 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#15  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,904
Posts: 3,570
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp View Post
If i remember right people who were S-ON still had to do it that way and i only recently gained S-OFF so i still do it that way. im not sure if there is a different way for S-OFF people?
You said in your original post that you're S-off, so you just need to flash the ROM zip. No need to boot to the bootloader and flash the boot.img separately.

Sent from my HTC device
 
theshrimp
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28 View Post
You said in your original post that you're S-off, so you just need to flash the ROM zip. No need to boot to the bootloader and flash the boot.img separately.

Sent from my HTC device
So just went and wiped everything and re flashed without going into the bootloader, and still no go. Its stuck on boot screen and the charge light still comes on so its not boot looping right?
 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#17  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,904
Posts: 3,570
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshrimp View Post
So just went and wiped everything and re flashed without going into the bootloader, and still no go. Its stuck on boot screen and the charge light still comes on so its not boot looping right?
How long are you waiting for it to boot up? Remember it takes several minutes for a ROM to boot after a flash, so give it a bit and see what happens.

Sent from my HTC device
 
theshrimp
Old
#18  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28 View Post
How long are you waiting for it to boot up? Remember it takes several minutes for a ROM to boot after a flash, so give it a bit and see what happens.

Sent from my HTC device
Before i re wiped it i let it sit for 30+ minutes. Its been going for about 5 or so minutes.
 
theshrimp
Old
#19  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2013
Maybe ill just have to stick with boring old sense 5 haha. i seriously have no idea why its doing this.
 
fizbanrapper
Old
(Last edited by fizbanrapper; 5th May 2014 at 11:59 AM.)
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2014
Did you unlock bootloader with htc utility? What did you use to gain s-off?
What version is your H-BOOT?

Some roms I was flashing checked for 2.10.0000 and rejected anything else, so when I upgraded to 2.10.5555, most of the kit kat rooms took a poop on me.

Not sure if this is still an issue though. I would imagine those errors were caused by the person compiling the Roms, but may have been resolved since.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more