Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

how to add personal messaage to boot animation in cm10.2.0

OP Kobro

1st February 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #1  
Kobro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 75
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Does anyone know if there is a way to add a personal message to the bootanimation, so i could put my phone number, in case i lose my phone?
18th February 2014, 03:34 PM   |  #2  
Kobro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 75
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I figured out a way that looks like it should be possible, but i havent tested:
in /system>media, there is a zip file called bootanimation.zip. inside are a whole lot of images, which going through quickly or in a fast slide show makes the bootanimation. my thought is that if one were to edit those pictures, say using paint, then the bootanimatin would now include your personal message. you would have to make the exact same edit in each picture, but i think it might work. anyone willing to try it out? if you do, please post your results!
20th February 2014, 11:11 PM   |  #3  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 291
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Yes, that would work.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
25th February 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #4  
Kobro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 75
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
have you tried or are you guessing?
27th February 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #5  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 291
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I'm guessing lol, but it would take like 10 minutes to try it out and see. If I get a minute later I'll try it and report.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
1st March 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #6  
Kobro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 75
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by knuckles1978

I'm guessing lol, but it would take like 10 minutes to try it out and see. If I get a minute later I'll try it and report.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

i'm just worried that if i meddle with the zip, i might get a bootloop or some other issue, and i dont have the patience to backup, stock rom-ify, re flash my rom, and restore the backup!
5th May 2014, 01:01 PM   |  #7  
Kobro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 75
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by knuckles1978

I'm guessing lol, but it would take like 10 minutes to try it out and see. If I get a minute later I'll try it and report.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

ever got around to checking?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes