Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 39,035 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unable to boot; Can't mount E:/cache/...

Tip us?
 
woahs
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] Unable to boot; Can't mount E:/cache/...

Hello all, all of a sudden my phone start booting in to CWM with the error message:
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

With any attempts to restore/wipe data, I get a similar message saying it is unable to mount. Now, I am unable to boot my phone even to the CWM menu since it keeps rebooting on its own and sometimes it won't even go into the CWM menu. I have looking up this error many times and I have been unable to find a solution that works for me.

I have tried wiping the cache from CWM, wiping all data, and nandroid data, all of which ended in a error message except wiping the cache which did not solve the problem.
I have also tried this : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1284196 but could not get my computer to recognize the device. If anyone could help or provide any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5218
Posts: 7,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Try flashing firmware via Odin. Uninstall/ reinstall drivers if connection issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
woahs
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Try flashing firmware via Odin. Uninstall/ reinstall drivers if connection issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
Could you provide some instructions as to how I can try flashing firmware via odin? One of my attempts at this has ended in an "FAIL" in Odin.
 
GenericAsianGuy
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by woahs View Post
Could you provide some instructions as to how I can try flashing firmware via odin? One of my attempts at this has ended in an "FAIL" in Odin.
Doc's how-to:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...92&postcount=2

Scroll down to the blue "How to Flash the Stock Firmware" section
You got B? You not Bsian, you Asian!
The Following User Says Thank You to GenericAsianGuy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
woahs
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenericAsianGuy View Post
Doc's how-to:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...92&postcount=2

Scroll down to the blue "How to Flash the Stock Firmware" section
I have tried this and when I hit Start in Odin, I get the message:
<ID:0/006> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/006> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

and a FAIL! in the top left.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5218
Posts: 7,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
If kies is installed uninstall it. Does odin go through the md5 check? What is your current firmware build and what build are you trying to flash? Also uninstall drivers through device manager. Then reinstall.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
woahs
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
If kies is installed uninstall it. Does odin go through the md5 check? What is your current firmware build and what build are you trying to flash? Also uninstall drivers through device manager. Then reinstall.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
My phone doesn't boot up anymore. Goes straight to CWM and reboots itself. I don't remember what the current firmware build is and I'm not trying to flash anything. My phone just decided to turn off one day and won't turn back on.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#8  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5218
Posts: 7,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Do you at least know if you updated to 4.3? If so, you can only flash the same or newer firmware from now on. So when you tried to flash with odin, if you used older firmware it would fail.
Can you boot into download mode? Hold volume down, home and power.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
woahs
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Do you at least know if you updated to 4.3? If so, you can only flash the same or newer firmware from now on. So when you tried to flash with odin, if you used older firmware it would fail.
Can you boot into download mode? Hold volume down, home and power.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
Booting in downloading mode was working at some point by it isn't anymore. I don't think I have updated to 4.3, it is most likely 4.1 or 4.2 and I have tried flashing 4.3.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#10  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5218
Posts: 7,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
I suggest trying to use the debrick.img from NC2 then. Its the latest available so it should work regardless of what you previously had. If you do get download mode this way you will have to odin flash the NC2 firmware.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...