Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Unable to boot; Can't mount E:/cache/...

OP woahs

3rd May 2014, 01:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Hello all, all of a sudden my phone start booting in to CWM with the error message:
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

With any attempts to restore/wipe data, I get a similar message saying it is unable to mount. Now, I am unable to boot my phone even to the CWM menu since it keeps rebooting on its own and sometimes it won't even go into the CWM menu. I have looking up this error many times and I have been unable to find a solution that works for me.

I have tried wiping the cache from CWM, wiping all data, and nandroid data, all of which ended in a error message except wiping the cache which did not solve the problem.
I have also tried this : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1284196 but could not get my computer to recognize the device. If anyone could help or provide any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated.
3rd May 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,500
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try flashing firmware via Odin. Uninstall/ reinstall drivers if connection issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
4th May 2014, 05:04 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Try flashing firmware via Odin. Uninstall/ reinstall drivers if connection issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Could you provide some instructions as to how I can try flashing firmware via odin? One of my attempts at this has ended in an "FAIL" in Odin.
4th May 2014, 05:28 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by woahs

Could you provide some instructions as to how I can try flashing firmware via odin? One of my attempts at this has ended in an "FAIL" in Odin.

Doc's how-to:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...92&postcount=2

Scroll down to the blue "How to Flash the Stock Firmware" section
The Following User Says Thank You to GenericAsianGuy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 06:52 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenericAsianGuy

Doc's how-to:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...92&postcount=2

Scroll down to the blue "How to Flash the Stock Firmware" section

I have tried this and when I hit Start in Odin, I get the message:
<ID:0/006> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/006> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

and a FAIL! in the top left.
4th May 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,500
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
If kies is installed uninstall it. Does odin go through the md5 check? What is your current firmware build and what build are you trying to flash? Also uninstall drivers through device manager. Then reinstall.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
4th May 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

If kies is installed uninstall it. Does odin go through the md5 check? What is your current firmware build and what build are you trying to flash? Also uninstall drivers through device manager. Then reinstall.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

My phone doesn't boot up anymore. Goes straight to CWM and reboots itself. I don't remember what the current firmware build is and I'm not trying to flash anything. My phone just decided to turn off one day and won't turn back on.
4th May 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #8  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,500
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Do you at least know if you updated to 4.3? If so, you can only flash the same or newer firmware from now on. So when you tried to flash with odin, if you used older firmware it would fail.
Can you boot into download mode? Hold volume down, home and power.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
5th May 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Do you at least know if you updated to 4.3? If so, you can only flash the same or newer firmware from now on. So when you tried to flash with odin, if you used older firmware it would fail.
Can you boot into download mode? Hold volume down, home and power.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Booting in downloading mode was working at some point by it isn't anymore. I don't think I have updated to 4.3, it is most likely 4.1 or 4.2 and I have tried flashing 4.3.
5th May 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #10  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,500
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I suggest trying to use the debrick.img from NC2 then. Its the latest available so it should work regardless of what you previously had. If you do get download mode this way you will have to odin flash the NC2 firmware.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes