Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Verizon GS3 I535, rooted w/ Saferoot, attempted flash w/ Safestrap & Alliancerom

OP SadPanda284

5th May 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I successfully rooted my Verizon GS3 I535VRUCML1 using Saferoot ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...09&postcount=1 ). I successfully got Safestrap going to attempt to flash a custom rom ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2605648 ). I tried flashing Alliancerom ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1973982 ) over the stock rom. I read that this was possible & several people said they were able to load custom roms over stock, because of the limited space on the phone (16GB); however when I tried to do it, the rom started, & then as soon as it said it was going to format the rom, it rebooted the phone & soft-bricked it. I was able to get back to a stock rom using Odin & the bad partition fix ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586319 ), but I'm wondering how others were able to install custom roms over stock without an issue like this happening. I will say that, with all the options available in Alliancerom, I choose the following:
  • Email Selection(stock)
  • Launcher Selection (Apex)
  • Messaging Selection (AOSP)
  • File Manager Selection (Both Es file & Myfiles)
  • KeyBoard Selection (both stock & google)
  • Accuweather Widget Selection (s5 themed)
  • Music Selection (Touchwiz Music)
  • Bootanimation (Kitkat Anim)
  • System Sounds (Aosp Sounds)
  • Misc App Selection (all)
  • Kernel Selection(Safestrap)
Not sure if any of those may have affected the install. I know they say you can't install AOSP roms, but I figured AOSP options within this 4.3 TW rom didn't count & should be ok.
I really need help guys!! Get me off STOCK!!!!!
5th May 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Update
So I redid Saferoot & Safestrap, & this time I installed Alliancerom on Romslot-1. When choosing a format option, I choose just to wipe cache & davlik (I think last time I choose to wipe /data too because I wanted a clean install). I seemed to get it installed, but then when going through setup, I couldn't even make it past adding my Google account before it would just reboot the phone on its own. I still would like to be able to install over the stock, & I still want a STABLE rom obviously, which it appears this is not.....why do I seem to be one of the only people having issues with this Alliancerom?? His board seems to show plenty of happy users, so why can't I seem to get it installed & setup successfully?
5th May 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #3  
ThePagel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 572
 
988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadPanda284

So I redid Saferoot & Safestrap, & this time I installed Alliancerom on Romslot-1. When choosing a format option, I choose just to wipe cache & davlik (I think last time I choose to wipe /data too because I wanted a clean install). I seemed to get it installed, but then when going through setup, I couldn't even make it past adding my Google account before it would just reboot the phone on its own. I still would like to be able to install over the stock, & I still want a STABLE rom obviously, which it appears this is not.....why do I seem to be one of the only people having issues with this Alliancerom?? His board seems to show plenty of happy users, so why can't I seem to get it installed & setup successfully?

I have had problems ever since he started to use xposed framework. Use to love his roms but alliance is not to my personal standards. If you want stability I would suggest finding a rom that doesn't use xposed.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes