FORUMS

T-Mobile Steps Up The War Against Verizon

T-Mobile has today launched a new attack on Verizon under the tagline of “Never Settle … more

Multi DPI Apps for Galaxy Note 4

Samsung stock apps do not scale to non-stock DPIs, which can prove annoying to those that want to … more

Google #StepInsideAdWords Event Livestream

Ahead of the annual I/O conference scheduled to take place later this month, the Google … more

How Much Do You Pay for Your Wireless Bill?

With so many different carriers and options to choose from, it can sometimes be quite a task … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Cannot update my i747

5th May 2014, 04:52 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hello all,

I had my s3 rooted, and unlocked with stock ROM. And I think I've also freeze my "AT&T Software Update" a while ago, so it was stuck on 4.1.1. Now, I would like to update my firmware to 4.3 or newer, and stay stock. I tried to go to the setting and select Software update, but nothing happen. I've also tried to find that "AT&T Software Update" in Titanium Pro, but have no result. Can anyone point me to the right direction on how I can do it?

Thanks
 
 
5th May 2014, 05:01 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
You can't update if you're rooted
So in order to update you need to unroot or just download the 4.3 firmware and flash thru Odin


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
5th May 2014, 07:39 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyc1213

Hello all,

I had my s3 rooted, and unlocked with stock ROM. And I think I've also freeze my "AT&T Software Update" a while ago, so it was stuck on 4.1.1. Now, I would like to update my firmware to 4.3 or newer, and stay stock. I tried to go to the setting and select Software update, but nothing happen. I've also tried to find that "AT&T Software Update" in Titanium Pro, but have no result. Can anyone point me to the right direction on how I can do it?

Thanks

You can do a 2-step manual update from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 and then to 4.3. Please go to page 300 of the thread below to see my steers to another user on exactly the same issue.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...49043&page=300
5th May 2014, 07:58 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

You can do a 2-step manual update from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 and then to 4.3. Please go to page 300 of the thread below to see my steers to another user on exactly the same issue.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...49043&page=300

Thanks Larry. That's a really helpful information. One question though, if I do these manual update, am I expecting all data will be gone? Or will it simply update the firmware, and leave everything alone?

Thanks again
5th May 2014, 08:58 PM |#5  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,781
 
More
Updating to a stock 4.3 ROM will install Knox too. Rooting will trip the Knox counter. If you have no warranty on your phone, this will not be a problem.
lo
You should also know that Knox can sometimes interfere with obtaining root. Once you're on a 4.3 bootloader, you cannot downgrade the bootloader.
5th May 2014, 11:05 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyc1213

Thanks Larry. That's a really helpful information. One question though, if I do these manual update, am I expecting all data will be gone? Or will it simply update the firmware, and leave everything alone?

Thanks again

I should have mentioned that earlier. Yes, updating can affect all your data so I would advise you first back up your data. You can install Samsung Kies on your phone and use this to back up your data, apps and everything else you want and restore afterwards. Please see also Audit's post. Updating to the latest firmware which is 4.3 could be a one-way trip and will install Knox security on your phone. The update will unroot your phone, restore to factory settings and install stock recovery. If you decide to re-root afterwards, however, there are several ways of doing this.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank