Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,823 Members 52,111 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SIM card swapping

Tip us?
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#1  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 136
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Question SIM card swapping

Luckily this is a curiousity question as the urgency worked itself out.

I have my Doubleshot connected to the Rogers network here in Canada, and I've tried other SIM cards before (i.e. T-Mobile) without issue. But this one had the representatives (and tier two support) stumped.

I walked into an Eastlink store (competing communications company although their roaming is done through Rogers frequencies) with a promotional flyer. We got talking about switching, and they offered to do a test to see if the phone is compatible. So I thought, hey, why not? So they popped an Eastlink SIM in my phone, turned it back on, picked up the network no problem. Well and good.

The problem occurs when she put my Rogers SIM back in. Boot the phone up and the network wasn't recognizing. No service. We went to Settings > Mobile Networks > Network Operators. The searching took forever then threw up and error. No networks to choose from.

The interesting part is that the Rogers APN's were present. I thought maybe the SIM card went bad. Luckily the Rogers store was across the street so we popped that into a feature phone, no issues. I then thought there was some weird (new) setting preventing it from connecting. So I booted into recovery and restored a backup from three days ago. No luck.

The problem ended up fixing itself, about an hour later, while waiting for the bus (after having given up). I made a few test calls to be sure. Since it's working now, it's merely a curiousity, but the issue stands: what would have caused this and is there any way to restore service faster? Using Tbaldens CM 10.1 if that helps.

Thanks for your thoughts.
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Primary Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Backup Phone: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running Beanstalk 4.4+
On Order: LG Optimus F3Q, running stock
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#2  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 136
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Still very interesting. I find now that every time I reboot the phone, it takes a few minutes for service to be established. Long enough for Auto Pilot Mode (one of the apps I use in case I'm in the depths of big buildings) to be engaged. I may have to quarantine that app for a little while. Or just not reboot the phone.

My Rogers SIM is an older card. It would have been pressed in 2007 or 2008 (which is also why the fastest internet I can get on it is EDGE). It may be time I shell out the $10 for a replacement. For whatever reason, that just may fix this newly attained lag on connecting.
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Primary Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Backup Phone: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running Beanstalk 4.4+
On Order: LG Optimus F3Q, running stock
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#3  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 136
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel.maxuel View Post
Still very interesting. I find now that every time I reboot the phone, it takes a few minutes for service to be established. Long enough for Auto Pilot Mode (one of the apps I use in case I'm in the depths of big buildings) to be engaged. I may have to quarantine that app for a little while. Or just not reboot the phone.

My Rogers SIM is an older card. It would have been pressed in 2007 or 2008 (which is also why the fastest internet I can get on it is EDGE). It may be time I shell out the $10 for a replacement. For whatever reason, that just may fix this newly attained lag on connecting.
Just activated a new Rogers (LTE) SIM card. Booted up the phone, and service was recognized by the time I entered my login PIN. So everything looks good (as it looks like my old SIM was starting to die). I'm still stuck with EDGE, but that is due to the phone being a non-Rogers phone. No big deal there.
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Primary Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Backup Phone: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running Beanstalk 4.4+
On Order: LG Optimus F3Q, running stock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes