Post Reply

[Q] New update vs Root

OP alexvtr

25th April 2014, 01:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
I have a D803 (Rogers, Canada) running stock KK 4.4.2 rooted (4.2.2 was rooted and I kept it when upgrading to KK).
Now, a new update is available (with, among other goodies, Knock Code).
Phone notifies me an update is ready. I can download it but can't install because the installer stops and displays "root is suspected".

Anyone knows a way to install the update?
Do I have to "unroot" for real or can the installer be tricked into thinking the phone is unrooted (like some sort of temporary unroot).
Thanks!
25th April 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #2  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvtr

I have a D803 (Rogers, Canada) running stock KK 4.4.2 rooted (4.2.2 was rooted and I kept it when upgrading to KK).
Now, a new update is available (with, among other goodies, Knock Code).
Phone notifies me an update is ready. I can download it but can't install because the installer stops and displays "root is suspected".

Anyone knows a way to install the update?
Do I have to "unroot" for real or can the installer be tricked into thinking the phone is unrooted (like some sort of temporary unroot).
Thanks!

Have you removed bloat/modified the system(xposed/mods) If so then you have to put everything back to stock

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app
5th May 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 27
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I am in the same boat. My phone is rooted and has no bloat but it took the Kit Kat update. Now that the knock code update is out, it won't let me take the update. I get the "suspected of rooting" error message too. Only difference is I am running some Xposed modules.

I disabled my Xposed modules but left everything installed. Rebooted and attempted the update again. Still the same problem.
Then I uninstalled Xposed and all its modules and still the same problem.

If you find out how to take the update, please up date this post so the rest of us know how as well.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Have you removed bloat/modified the system(xposed/mods) If so then you have to put everything back to stock

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app

5th May 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #4  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezadue

I am in the same boat. My phone is rooted and has no bloat but it took the Kit Kat update. Now that the knock code update is out, it won't let me take the update. I get the "suspected of rooting" error message too. Only difference is I am running some Xposed modules.

I disabled my Xposed modules but left everything installed. Rebooted and attempted the update again. Still the same problem.
Then I uninstalled Xposed and all its modules and still the same problem.

If you find out how to take the update, please up date this post so the rest of us know how as well.

Thanks

everything needs to be completely stock so that you can ota, if it gives the suspected of rooting then the only way to ota is to flash a stock kdz via r&d/flash tool and then update
5th May 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 27
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
You mean using this thread to flash back to complete stock?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

everything needs to be completely stock so that you can ota, if it gives the suspected of rooting then the only way to ota is to flash a stock kdz via r&d/flash tool and then update

5th May 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #6  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezadue

You mean using this thread to flash back to complete stock?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Thanks

yes that's correct
5th May 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Updating through the 'LG PC Suite' or 'LGMobile Support Tool' should work though
5th May 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 27
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Yes, except the LG suite wants to flash the Bell version of the ROM and using the KDZ file, I can flash the Rogers version of the ROM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyNijnatten

Updating through the 'LG PC Suite' or 'LGMobile Support Tool' should work though

5th May 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Have stock with root and exposed and modded camera. Not risking the update. I just tap to install and then when prompted to continue, hit cancel.

Knock code does not offer me anything. So unless there is a good reason to have to re-configure the whole bloody phone ... this update will not be missed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank