MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

[Q] [Samsung Gravity Smart] 3G does'n work

30th April 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hi,

Well, I know that this is na old phone, but let's try to fix...

I have a Samsung SGH-T589 (Gravity Smart), originally from T-Mobile, but now unlocked. Since I'm in Brazil, tha 3G connection doesn't work. After some (and for some I mean months) time of research, I figured out that T-Mobile Works on a diferent 3G frequency than brazilian ops. But, I've also figured out that maybe (and just maybe) could be possible fix this by flashing the SGH-T589W (Gravity Smart/Galaxy Q) or SGH-T589R firmware on this phone. There were no problems related until now... but I'm having trouble to find this firmware. Tryied Samfirmware, Sampro, and many others...

Anyone have this file or I should just retire this phone once and forever?

Thanks everyone.
30th April 2014, 07:23 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
2,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmatheus2003

Hi,

Well, I know that this is na old phone, but let's try to fix...

I have a Samsung SGH-T589 (Gravity Smart), originally from T-Mobile, but now unlocked. Since I'm in Brazil, tha 3G connection doesn't work. After some (and for some I mean months) time of research, I figured out that T-Mobile Works on a diferent 3G frequency than brazilian ops. But, I've also figured out that maybe (and just maybe) could be possible fix this by flashing the SGH-T589W (Gravity Smart/Galaxy Q) or SGH-T589R firmware on this phone. There were no problems related until now... but I'm having trouble to find this firmware. Tryied Samfirmware, Sampro, and many others...

Anyone have this file or I should just retire this phone once and forever?

Thanks everyone.

Well, it wouldn't be helped by the t589W because that also uses the weird 1700/2100 AWS bands for 3G service. The R would be the way to go, if it were possible, but even if it did flash successfully, the phone still has a hardware limitation where it just doesn't support other bands, despite what radio/modem you could install.

If you wanna try though, just for the heck of it (at your OWN risk - I do not think this will work. Not likely to hard brick it, but will probably need to restock with the correct firmware if it fails):

http://www.bergfiles.com/i/bf38cacda3hci0#

And you'll want the official firmware flashing Odin version for the phone, because for some reason it doesn't work with the regular Odin ones:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/atta...0&d=1329391881
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
It's alive!!!! (insert your evil laugh here)
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Well, it wouldn't be helped by the t589W because that also uses the weird 1700/2100 AWS bands for 3G service. The R would be the way to go, if it were possible, but even if it did flash successfully, the phone still has a hardware limitation where it just doesn't support other bands, despite what radio/modem you could install.

If you wanna try though, just for the heck of it (at your OWN risk - I do not think this will work. Not likely to hard brick it, but will probably need to restock with the correct firmware if it fails):

http://www.bergfiles.com/i/bf38cacda3hci0#

And you'll want the official firmware flashing Odin version for the phone, because for some reason it doesn't work with the regular Odin ones:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/atta...0&d=1329391881

Man! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've flashed my phone with this firmware and It's fine! Now I'm testing to see if everything is OK, but aparently everything is so so...
5th May 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
2,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmatheus2003

Man! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've flashed my phone with this firmware and It's fine! Now I'm testing to see if everything is OK, but aparently everything is so so...

Sweet! So you ARE getting 3G ? Or just happy that it flashed and didn't mess up the phone?
5th May 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hehe
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Sweet! So you ARE getting 3G ? Or just happy that it flashed and didn't mess up the phone?

For now, just happy that it flashed and didn't mess up the phone... but 3G still off... but here in my region, there are 4 ops working on diferente frequencies .... now I'm testing to see if one of them can make me happy...hehehe
5th May 2014, 05:52 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
2,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Cool. Good luck.
5th May 2014, 08:37 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Thumbs down Bad... :(
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Cool. Good luck.

Man... No luck!

My phone only works on EDGE and now I've found why...

This model uses 3G over the 1700/1900 Mhz ... All operators in Brazil works with 3G over 850/2100 Mhz...

So, no luck for me...

Now, I'll try to swap this phone on eBay or something like...

If you know someone who wanna change a phone, please tell me...hehehehe.

Thanks for everything! Now I can sleep in Peace....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank