Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,461 Members 47,391 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CPUID?

Tip us?
 
zack.anderson08
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default CPUID?

Ok guys I was given this A500 after my brother in law passed away. It is bricked. It will get stuck at the acer boot screen. I have to get the cpuid so I can unlock it but I don't know how to retrieve it. Can anyone help me please. I'm about to pull the last of my hair out. Then it will be on to the beard and I would rather not go there. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 
*fergs*
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Perth Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by zack.anderson08 View Post
Ok guys I was given this A500 after my brother in law passed away. It is bricked. It will get stuck at the acer boot screen. I have to get the cpuid so I can unlock it but I don't know how to retrieve it. Can anyone help me please. I'm about to pull the last of my hair out. Then it will be on to the beard and I would rather not go there. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
start reading my post & links to others mate


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post52327243

.
 
dibb_nz
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Quote:
Originally Posted by zack.anderson08 View Post
Ok guys I was given this A500 after my brother in law passed away. It is bricked. It will get stuck at the acer boot screen. I have to get the cpuid so I can unlock it but I don't know how to retrieve it. Can anyone help me please. I'm about to pull the last of my hair out. Then it will be on to the beard and I would rather not go there. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
If it's got an ext sd card check to see if there's a " clockwork mod/backup " folder on it. Yr cpuid is stored in a txt file in the backup folder. And is by far the easiest way to get it....

If there isn't - you will need to follow the Linux procedure to retrieve it, as fergs did.

The update.zip method "may" work, you can find one in the root guide to use and instructions as well.

Good luck chap!!





Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
 
zack.anderson08
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
There was no card in it when I got it.. He wasn't very tech say so it should be stock. From what I can tell it has the stock bootloader. I have tried us be view and can find nothing that looks right I read somewhere that it would only work if the tablet was hooked to my computer before it went bad. It wasn't as it wasn't mine when it worked. We. It quit on him he went and got another brand tablet and just said this one was junk but wouldn't give it up. I am trying to fix it for my inlaws. I'm not the best at this stuff either but have done a lot of reading. Some stuff makes sense others dont. I have tried multiple times and multiple stock rooms through the update.zip way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz View Post
If it's got an ext sd card check to see if there's a " clockwork mod/backup " folder on it. Yr cpuid is stored in a txt file in the backup folder. And is by far the easiest way to get it....

If there isn't - you will need to follow the Linux procedure to retrieve it, as fergs did.

The update.zip method "may" work, you can find one in the root guide to use and instructions as well.

Good luck chap!!





Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk
 
dibb_nz
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Quote:
Originally Posted by zack.anderson08 View Post
There was no card in it when I got it.. He wasn't very tech say so it should be stock. From what I can tell it has the stock bootloader. I have tried us be view and can find nothing that looks right I read somewhere that it would only work if the tablet was hooked to my computer before it went bad. It wasn't as it wasn't mine when it worked. We. It quit on him he went and got another brand tablet and just said this one was junk but wouldn't give it up. I am trying to fix it for my inlaws. I'm not the best at this stuff either but have done a lot of reading. Some stuff makes sense others dont. I have tried multiple times and multiple stock rooms through the update.zip way.
Hmmm was worth a shot for the ext sd card...update.zip was a long shot, usually these issues can only be resolved with a manual nvflash method...this will also determine if the tab is one of those with a faulty memory chip in which case it is toast

But to find out you will need the cpuid - there is a guide stickied in the General forum by 'srbeen' on how to use linux to retrieve your cpuid. I am no help with this as I've never had to use it and I'm illiterate in regards to llinux. Have a read thru the thread and see what you think.. @*fergs* might be able to help you out if you ask him nicely

good luck with it
dibb

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
 
zack.anderson08
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz View Post
Hmmm was worth a shot for the ext sd card...update.zip was a long shot, usually these issues can only be resolved with a manual nvflash method...this will also determine if the tab is one of those with a faulty memory chip in which case it is toast

But to find out you will need the cpuid - there is a guide stickied in the General forum by 'srbeen' on how to use linux to retrieve your cpuid. I am no help with this as I've never had to use it and I'm illiterate in regards to llinux. Have a read thru the thread and see what you think.. @*fergs* might be able to help you out if you ask him nicely

good luck with it
dibb
Thanks but I don't have Linux nor do I know how to use it either. I usually root my phones but that's about it. Maybe change little stuff so I've never needed to use it. Guess I better learn huh. I have read about the memory chips I'm hoping it's not toast. Don't wanna dish out the cash for a new one.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more