New Forums Created for Windows 10 Development

Microsoft, looking to be a player in the game of giants with their recent announcement of … more

T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Replacing CWM With TWRP

OP dratsablive

6th May 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I am trying to replace CWM with TWRP but not having any luck. I installed GooManager and used the option to install open recovery script, but I still have CWM. So I downloaded the twrp image and used the terminal method

dd if=/mnt/extSdCard/twrp.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p34

This completed successfully, but after reboot then reboot into recovery I still have CWM.

I am currently running latest Cyanogenmod Rom.
6th May 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #2  
Chalao's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Why do you want to replace it, anything that TWRP can do better than CWM? If you still want to switch, you should flash TWRP via Odin.
6th May 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #3  
qtwrk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 815
 
2,509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
And/or flashing TWRP zip file through CWM recovery
6th May 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I like the TWRP interface over CWM. I guess I'll try the odin route.
6th May 2014, 01:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Well I was able to flash a recovery zip file, but now if I attempt to boot into recovery it just stops at the Google Logo (Google edition phone) and I have to pull the battery, boot into download mode and select restart to get out of it.
6th May 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 315
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Just flash the recovery with Odin. Uncheck auto-reboot in Odin. If it doesn't work the first time, flash it 2 times in a row.
6th May 2014, 02:55 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I was having a problem with Odin crashing when I attempted to flash. I finally got it working, apparently I had the wrong img file and dd statement. So now everything is working great.

Making Nandroid Backup first thing.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes