Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,815 Members 39,955 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Knowing Android type

Tip us?
 
stiphen
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Knowing Android type

Sorry I do not know whether I am posting it in right section or not

how can i know Android version with type with shell command my device connected with usb

like

Code:
 4.4 - KitKat


 4.0 - Ice Cream Sandwich
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 514
Posts: 2,692
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
adb shell getprop ro.build.version.release
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
stiphen
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s View Post
adb shell getprop ro.build.version.release
Thanks .. But I already know about this command ... this shows the version only I want complete output as like this


PHP Code:
4.4 KitKat 
 
Lgrootnoob
Old
(Last edited by Lgrootnoob; 6th May 2014 at 02:13 PM.)
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 485
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiphen View Post
Thanks .. But I already know about this command ... this shows the version only I want complete output as like this


PHP Code:
4.4 KitKat 
If your making a script, you could take the output of the getprop command. And if it is what you thought, you could display the android version in that format.
Just match the sdk version up with whatever android version string. (Using an if statement)
Code:
sdknum=$(adb shell grep ro.build.version.sdk= system/build.prop)
if (sdknum=ro.build.version.sdk=19) then
echo 4.4 - KitKat
fi
Or something like that.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes