Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,143 Members 54,532 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Switch with 4.4.2?

Tip us?
 
jideay
Old
#1  
jideay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 186
Join Date: May 2011
Default GPS Switch with 4.4.2?

My Moto X came with a widget that could turn the location services on or off with having to open the settings. I'm guessing it was a motorola thing. I have not found anything for the s5 that will do it. Apparently its a google security thing? Any widgets out there that can do it?
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<
Jim -- Verizon Galaxy s5; Nexus 10 (Rooted)
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<
 
TCM55
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 86
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay View Post
My Moto X came with a widget that could turn the location services on or off with having to open the settings. I'm guessing it was a motorola thing. I have not found anything for the s5 that will do it. Apparently its a google security thing? Any widgets out there that can do it?
You can just edit the shortcuts on the notification panel pull down settings to show the "location" button. You can toggle it on and off from there with a pull down and a press, I have mine set up like that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-02-17-36-12.png
Views:	44
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	2722170  
Galaxy S5, Nexus 7 2013 (Stock), Thunderbolt - Shifts3ns3 2.1.1, Transformer Prime - Stock Rooted, Rezound - Vigor360. Loaned out to family: Samsung Galaxy S IV - BoneStock V1.1.4, OG Droid - CM7, Samsung Galaxy S III - CleanRom
 
jideay
Old
#3  
jideay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 186
Join Date: May 2011
Even with that, I still two separate Location Consents that I have to agree too.
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<
Jim -- Verizon Galaxy s5; Nexus 10 (Rooted)
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<
 
ks3rv3rg
Old
#4  
ks3rv3rg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 584
Posts: 824
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay View Post
Even with that, I still two separate Location Consents that I have to agree too.
Have you tried long pressing the toggle and turning it off in settings?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 
Dennisg34
Old
#5  
Dennisg34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 316
Posts: 734
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lodaserves View Post
Yeah like ks3 Have you tried long pressing the toggle and turning it off in settings?
Who are you? You've commented on literally every thread in the S5 forums just repeating what someone else says/suggests...
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S5 ROOTED
ROM: Wizzle ROM
KERNEL:Stock
RECOVERY:SafeStrap 3.75


Galaxy S4
ROM: Eclipse ROM
KERNEL: KToonez
RECOVERY: TWRP 2.5


Before asking a question, use this:


 
kprice8
Old
#6  
kprice8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 197
Posts: 546
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lansing MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennisg34 View Post
Who are you? You've commented on literally every thread in the S5 forums just repeating what someone else says/suggests...
Apparently a troll.. I've been noticing that too. I just ignore them, whoever they are.

to OP. That's because the Location Services are in depth. I believe I had two Approvals when I turned mine on the first time.
If I helped you, hit thanks if you like.

-Kevin
 
jideay
Old
#7  
jideay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 186
Join Date: May 2011
Well, I guess I'll leave it on since it doesn't drain the battery unless its in use. Thanks everyone (troll excluded).
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<
Jim -- Verizon Galaxy s5; Nexus 10 (Rooted)
>><<>><<>><<>><<>><<

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more