Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,731 Members 50,359 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Network settings for KitKat and T-Mobile? Stock is fine

Tip us?
 
retack
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default [Q] Network settings for KitKat and T-Mobile? Stock is fine

I have a Razr HD MAXX with an unlocked bootloader, and I've done the NV edit so that it works on US GSM networks (AT&T, T-Mobile, etc.).

When it's running a stock rom, all I have to do to get onto T-Mobile is go under network settings and select 'GSM/UMTS', and bam I'm connected getting great speeds. With every 4.4 rom I've tried, there are WAY more options under network settings including probably 8 options that contain GSM in one way or another, but after going through every option on the list and then turning airplane mode on/off, not a single one gives me any signal whatsoever, let alone a data connection.

There are a couple GSM options that let me search for network providers, and it finds T-Mobile and AT&T, but then selecting T-Mobile just hangs on a screen that says 'registering with T-Mobile' (what??) and eventually that times out and I still have no connection.

Sorry if this is a simple or common issue, but I haven't seen anyone else mention this on the newer roms so I'm worried it's just me.
 
XBlackChaosX
Old
#2  
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Retack my man, I am going through the same thing with these unified builds. I've been using slimkat because they have yet to unify the moto builds. I too would very much love to be able to use some of these unified builds like PA but I can't get T-Mobile to work on them. Apparently it's because the roms are detecting the XT926 board and therefore writing the build prop for an XT926 when we need them configured for the XT925.

Sent from my Droid Razr Maxx HD
 
StefanGA
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 133
Join Date: Apr 2007
You may have already researched that further, but shouldn't setting it to "global" mode work for all variations? I have an XT925, and the first unified builds didn't work at all for me on GSM networks, but meanwhile, the "global" settings works great..

Sent from my RAZR HD using Tapatalk
 
yujikaido79
Old
#4  
yujikaido79's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 115
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hong Kong
Default Patch for GSM

I don't if it will help but I found this patch online when I was having trouble with GSM networks abroad. Don't know if it did anything but wouldn't hurt I suppose. http://www.internauta37.altervista.o...phones-android
Motorola Razr Maxx Hd Unlocked running Xposed 4.4.2 OTA
Motorola Atrix Lapdock (Using it as an HDMI monitor and laptop with kitkat OTA)
 
kabaldan
Old
#5  
kabaldan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3048
Posts: 1,339
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prague

 
DONATE TO ME
Which CM11 build have you tried?
GSM should work on xt926 since this commit (made on March 7): https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...51d0f08b1705df
The Following User Says Thank You to kabaldan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XBlackChaosX
Old
#6  
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by StefanGA View Post
You may have already researched that further, but shouldn't setting it to "global" mode work for all variations? I have an XT925, and the first unified builds didn't work at all for me on GSM networks, but meanwhile, the "global" settings works great..

Sent from my RAZR HD using Tapatalk
I wish it would but setting it to global doesn't work. I too am using the RAZR Maxx HD with a T-Mobile Sim. I'm currently on slimkat XT925 version cause its the only thing that works.





Quote:
Originally Posted by kabaldan View Post
Which CM11 build have you tried?
GSM should work on xt926 since this commit (made on March 7): https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...51d0f08b1705df
I tried today's build but no luck


Sent from my Droid Razr Maxx HD
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more