Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Motorola Moto G Fastboot drivers

OP derekokelly

27th March 2014, 05:39 AM   |  #1  
derekokelly's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Hello.

I own a Moto G (Global GSM) running CyanogenMod 11 rooted with TWRP recovery and the bootloader is unlocked. I have been trying to go back to the stock firmware using this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219 but I have a problem. The adb drivers for my device work fine when I am in the system or in the recovery, but don't work in the bootloader. I am able to type "adb reboot bootloader" when I'm in the system/recovery and it will follow the command, but once I get into the bootloader it stops. When I type "adb devices" a line saying "List of devices attached" comes up with nothing underneath it.

I am completely lost and would greatly appreciate any help. Also I am new to XDA.

Thank you
Last edited by derekokelly; 31st March 2014 at 01:23 AM.
28th March 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekokelly

Hello.

I own a Moto G (GSM) running CyanogenMod 11 rooted with TWRP recovery and the bootloader is unlocked. I have been trying to go back to the stock firmware using this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219 but I have a problem. The adb drivers for my device work fine when I am in the system or in the recovery, but don't work in the bootloader. I am able to type "adb reboot bootloader" when I'm in the system/recovery and it will follow the command, but once I get into the bootloader it stops. When I type "adb devices" a line saying "List of devices attached" comes up with nothing underneath it.

I am completely lost and would greatly appreciate any help. Also I am new to XDA.

Thank you

When you are in bootloader you have to use fastboot. Type 'fastboot devices' and you'll see the connected device. Refer this guide "[Guide] How To Setup And Use Fastboot" for more info: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2277112

************************************************** ************************************************** ************************************************** *****************
Hit the "Thanks" button if you think I helped!
The Following User Says Thank You to PhaseBeta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #3  
derekokelly's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:

Type 'fastboot devices' and you'll see the connected device.

When I do this, a blank line comes up underneath "List of devices attached". I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
Last edited by derekokelly; 29th March 2014 at 08:13 PM.
4th April 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekokelly

When I do this, a blank line comes up underneath "List of devices attached". I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Have you enabled 'USB Debugging' in Settings and allowed your computer to access it?
The Following User Says Thank You to PhaseBeta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #5  
derekokelly's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhaseBeta

Have you enabled 'USB Debugging' in Settings and allowed your computer to access it?

Yes, I did. It has something to do with the ROM that I was on. For some reason, it won't recognise my device anymore, no matter what ROM I use. It doesn't really bother me though, there's plenty of ways to do things nowadays.
7th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 591
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
USB Debugging nor the rom have anything to do with fastboot.

Are you using a Windows PC? If so, when in bootloader mode, check your Device Manager and see if the driver is loading correctly. If it isn't, it'll have a yellow exclamation symbol next to it. If that's the case, you'll just need to manually load the driver from there.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes