Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,214 Members 43,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Disabling soft buttons

Tip us?
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#1  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Disabling soft buttons

So title says it all....is there anyway to disable the soft buttons? I give my phone to my boy so he can watch videos and movies but he hits a button every time. Not sure if there is a hack to disable them since I have pie or on screen soft buttons to use.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,989
Posts: 2,969
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boca Raton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero View Post
So title says it all....is there anyway to disable the soft buttons? I give my phone to my boy so he can watch videos and movies but he hits a button every time. Not sure if there is a hack to disable them since I have pie or on screen soft buttons to use.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#3  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend
Awesome yeah done the adding keys do i'll give the removing keys a try. Loving n3bula BTW.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzychinsagrero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#4  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend
Hey man could you help me with this for the disabling?

So just add a # to key 158 BACK
and same for the menu?
I did it and nothing adding a line and nothing or is it something I need to do in build prop?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#5  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,989
Posts: 2,969
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boca Raton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero View Post
Hey man could you help me with this for the disabling?

So just add a # to key 158 BACK
and same for the menu?
I did it and nothing adding a line and nothing or is it something I need to do in build prop?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Look at the pic below.. Did you edit this file like the post says?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399386921595.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	2728930  

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#6  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Look at the pic below.. Did you edit this file like the post says?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app
Yeah I probably need to change my permissions huh? I'm using tool commander.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#7  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,989
Posts: 2,969
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boca Raton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero View Post
Yeah I probably need to change my permissions huh? I'm using tool commander.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
As long as permissions are the same and you rebooted for the changes to take effect you should be good to go

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#8  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Okay I'll give out a shot and reboot thanks man.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzychinsagrero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nbock01
Old
#9  
nbock01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 296
Join Date: Dec 2007
Two options that work good in my opinion.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...oodles.kidmode

Kid lets you block access to apps selectively. So no web browser or play store from angry birds etc.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...xtech.kidslock

And if you are using mx player for movies, then lock them into the app with this plug in.

Good luck, kids are much smarter than they appear with these devices!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
fuzzychinsagrero
Old
#10  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2012
Got it all I had to do was reboot lol thanks though.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more