Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Post Reply

Disabling soft buttons

OP fuzzychinsagrero

6th May 2014, 01:16 AM   |  #1  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
So title says it all....is there anyway to disable the soft buttons? I give my phone to my boy so he can watch videos and movies but he hits a button every time. Not sure if there is a hack to disable them since I have pie or on screen soft buttons to use.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag LbTs
Thanks Meter: 4,626
 
3,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero

So title says it all....is there anyway to disable the soft buttons? I give my phone to my boy so he can watch videos and movies but he hits a button every time. Not sure if there is a hack to disable them since I have pie or on screen soft buttons to use.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend
6th May 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #3  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18

This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend

Awesome yeah done the adding keys do i'll give the removing keys a try. Loving n3bula BTW.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzychinsagrero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #4  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18

This should work for you.. not that simple since you need to modify your build.prop(meaning I don't believe there is app, but you can search)
Also, in the nicest way possible, Q&A thread my friend

Hey man could you help me with this for the disabling?

So just add a # to key 158 BACK
and same for the menu?
I did it and nothing adding a line and nothing or is it something I need to do in build prop?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 03:35 PM   |  #5  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag LbTs
Thanks Meter: 4,626
 
3,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero

Hey man could you help me with this for the disabling?

So just add a # to key 158 BACK
and same for the menu?
I did it and nothing adding a line and nothing or is it something I need to do in build prop?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Look at the pic below.. Did you edit this file like the post says?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399386921595.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	2728930  
6th May 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #6  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18

Look at the pic below.. Did you edit this file like the post says?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Free mobile app

Yeah I probably need to change my permissions huh? I'm using tool commander.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #7  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag LbTs
Thanks Meter: 4,626
 
3,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzychinsagrero

Yeah I probably need to change my permissions huh? I'm using tool commander.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

As long as permissions are the same and you rebooted for the changes to take effect you should be good to go
6th May 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #8  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Okay I'll give out a shot and reboot thanks man.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzychinsagrero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 01:33 AM   |  #9  
nbock01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Two options that work good in my opinion.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...oodles.kidmode

Kid lets you block access to apps selectively. So no web browser or play store from angry birds etc.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...xtech.kidslock

And if you are using mx player for movies, then lock them into the app with this plug in.

Good luck, kids are much smarter than they appear with these devices!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th May 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #10  
fuzzychinsagrero's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Got it all I had to do was reboot lol thanks though.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes