Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] People/Contacts

OP ufkal

6th May 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #1  
ufkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 78
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Am I the only one having problems transitioning to the People application for HTC? I again hate to be that guy who says, "On the Samsung", but, on the Samsung phones, I could edit the contacts to take individual ringtones AND message alerts. This does not seem to be a feature with People. People also seems to be separating out my contacts by individual phone number and email. I'm certain its a learning process for me, but if ANYONE has any help, or suggestions I'd really really appreciate it.

TIA!!!
6th May 2014, 08:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufkal

Am I the only one having problems transitioning to the People application for HTC? I again hate to be that guy who says, "On the Samsung", but, on the Samsung phones, I could edit the contacts to take individual ringtones AND message alerts. This does not seem to be a feature with People. People also seems to be separating out my contacts by individual phone number and email. I'm certain its a learning process for me, but if ANYONE has any help, or suggestions I'd really really appreciate it.

TIA!!!

Sorry, I have no idea what kind of 3rd party app Samsung devices use, but I also only have the ability to assign an individual ringtone, not individual message alerts.

As far as it separating contacts by phone number and email, do you mean you have, for instance, one contact for your mom for her cell phone, and another separate contact for her email? Because that's not happening for me. If that's the case, Touchwiz may have stored contacts in an odd fashion that Google wasn't expecting, so when it pulled your contacts back down for your M8 it couldn't categorize them correctly? But that's just a wild guess. I came from a Galaxy Nexus, but before that I had a Droid X, and my contacts have been correct since day 1.
The Following User Says Thank You to sfreemanoh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #3  
ufkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 78
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfreemanoh

Sorry, I have no idea what kind of 3rd party app Samsung devices use, but I also only have the ability to assign an individual ringtone, not individual message alerts.

As far as it separating contacts by phone number and email, do you mean you have, for instance, one contact for your mom for her cell phone, and another separate contact for her email? Because that's not happening for me. If that's the case, Touchwiz may have stored contacts in an odd fashion that Google wasn't expecting, so when it pulled your contacts back down for your M8 it couldn't categorize them correctly? But that's just a wild guess. I came from a Galaxy Nexus, but before that I had a Droid X, and my contacts have been correct since day 1.

Yeah, that is exactly what I mean. and it appears to be all over the place. And this is just a personal feeling, but it doesn't feel clean. or intuitive. Not a biggie, I was just curious. I try to use stock applications, but if stock messaging won't let me assign specific message alerts, I'll just use something else.

Thanks for the reply.
6th May 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufkal

Yeah, that is exactly what I mean. and it appears to be all over the place. And this is just a personal feeling, but it doesn't feel clean. or intuitive. Not a biggie, I was just curious. I try to use stock applications, but if stock messaging won't let me assign specific message alerts, I'll just use something else.

Thanks for the reply.

No problem, sorry I couldn't help more. I actually just went through my contacts, and though there were a lot of dupes, it's actually because I apparently had separate contacts for some people (in all the cases the names of the dupes were slightly different, or only the first name for one, then first and last for the other, etc). But I didn't see any that were obviously just separated by the HTC app. Try Go Contacts maybe? It's fairly popular I think. I don't know if it supports per-contact message alert tones though, but I haven't used it in over 2 years.
7th May 2014, 04:33 AM   |  #5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,764
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
You got to go into settings within the people app (from dialer), bro. Then you can uncheck all the extra pulls you don't need, then 'link' contacts. If you check in there now, and look above your name, I bet there are some link/join suggestions waiting for you.

I know exactly what you're talking. It's the first thing I did on this phone and it was a mess. Got it all cleaned up doing what I said above.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
The Following User Says Thank You to 1ManWolfePack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes