APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Will flashing AT&T One to T-Mobile ROM bring full functionality?

OP paulgyro

26th March 2014, 02:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi all! First post here, I've read through pages and pages of forum posts looking for an answer but haven't found one so I thought I would ask a quick question.

I have an AT&T One that I recently unlocked, I then left AT&T for T-Mobile and am having issues with MMS sending/receiving and Mobile Hot spot. Everything else is functionality. T-Mobile says they can't help, HTC says they can't help.

As a result I was thinking I flashing it with a T-Mobile ROM.

Do you think it will help?

I wanted to confirm before I start digging more into how to flash it.

Thanks in advance,
Paulgyro
28th March 2014, 11:11 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,168
 
4,266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgyro

Hi all! First post here, I've read through pages and pages of forum posts looking for an answer but haven't found one so I thought I would ask a quick question.

I have an AT&T One that I recently unlocked, I then left AT&T for T-Mobile and am having issues with MMS sending/receiving and Mobile Hot spot. Everything else is functionality. T-Mobile says they can't help, HTC says they can't help.

As a result I was thinking I flashing it with a T-Mobile ROM.

Do you think it will help?

I wanted to confirm before I start digging more into how to flash it.

Thanks in advance,
Paulgyro

you can convert your phone to a t-mobile one software wise but you'll always be missing the t-mobile bands that the at&t version does not support.

the step to complete conversion are
s-off
change MID and CID to t-mobiles
flash t-mobile RUU

then you'll have a t-mobile phone with no AWS and a couple missing radio bands possibly no LTE or 3G
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2014, 07:49 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

you can convert your phone to a t-mobile one software wise but you'll always be missing the t-mobile bands that the at&t version does not support.

the step to complete conversion are
s-off
change MID and CID to t-mobiles
flash t-mobile RUU

then you'll have a t-mobile phone with no AWS and a couple missing radio bands possibly no LTE or 3G

Thanks so much for the reply. And by the way your site looks awesome!

Currently I've unlocked my boot loader and am now moving on to the next task to get S-OFF
31st March 2014, 08:39 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Lancaster
Thanks Meter: 5
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I did this for fun in my friend Sim card to test out. I flashed tmobile selection in ROM setting twrp (att rom)viper rom on AT&T HTC One and LTE works depending on location. Getting 40 Mbps.

Gonna try 30 dollar Walmart deal on att ROM for tmobile

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
1st April 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

you can convert your phone to a t-mobile one software wise but you'll always be missing the t-mobile bands that the at&t version does not support.

the step to complete conversion are
s-off
change MID and CID to t-mobiles
flash t-mobile RUU

then you'll have a t-mobile phone with no AWS and a couple missing radio bands possibly no LTE or 3G

I'm having a heck of a time getting s-off, rumrunner is telling me to flash an unsecured kernel as my next step as it failed.

I'm sure getting a crash course in Android here. I've read the forums but thought I'd ask for a recommended kernel here or other steps.

Thanks,
Paul
1st April 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 114
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgyro

I'm having a heck of a time getting s-off, rumrunner is telling me to flash an unsecured kernel as my next step as it failed.

I'm sure getting a crash course in Android here. I've read the forums but thought I'd ask for a recommended kernel here or other steps.

Thanks,
Paul

Not sure why you are trying, as the previous poster mentioned. You will have some service. But AWS bands as well as LTE are your data and they will not work. So all you will be able to do is send and receive text and make calls.
4th April 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgyro

I'm having a heck of a time getting s-off, rumrunner is telling me to flash an unsecured kernel as my next step as it failed.

I'm sure getting a crash course in Android here. I've read the forums but thought I'd ask for a recommended kernel here or other steps.

Thanks,
Paul

Give firewater a try instead. If you are on the new HBOOT I couldn't get rumrunner to kick through although it should work. Firewater doesn't rely on a bunch of reboots.
7th May 2014, 06:34 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Angry It works even with rooted At&t stock rom
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgyro

Hi all! First post here, I've read through pages and pages of forum posts looking for an answer but haven't found one so I thought I would ask a quick question.

I have an AT&T One that I recently unlocked, I then left AT&T for T-Mobile and am having issues with MMS sending/receiving and Mobile Hot spot. Everything else is functionality. T-Mobile says they can't help, HTC says they can't help.

As a result I was thinking I flashing it with a T-Mobile ROM.

Do you think it will help?

I wanted to confirm before I start digging more into how to flash it.

Thanks in advance,
Paulgyro

I just got an used/new HTC One from ebay. The cellphone came with stock At&t, locked, unrooted. I first unlocked the boatloader via HTCDev, then installed TWRP. Used the cellphone with T-Mobile and no issues, except the mms. Then decided to install ViperOne 6.1.0. and it fixed everything, I was able to send/receive mms, plus all additonal extras, hotspot, fully customize, etc. Unfortunately, I loved the way that Blinkfeed transition/scrol;ing had on the At&t rom and the fact that could have Flickr as widget within blinkfeed as well. So S-off the cellphone usign firewater (no pain) and installed RUU. Once, I had this Rom, I was able to get hotspot by modifying the default.xml, and killed/unistalled at&t blotware. I might just go back to ViperOne, it is a great Rom, I am just a photography phanatic and love having Flickr on Blinkfeed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes