Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,274 Members 46,075 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Remap power button

Tip us?
 
Zwingling
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default Remap power button

I just managed to remap my broken power button to my volume up button, so I am able to lock/unlock the screen. The problem is that it's still not possible to turn on the phone with the volumen button (shutdown/run out of battery). I changed the gpio-keys.kl and Generic.kl file for remapping. Anyone has a solution to replace the power button.
 
LS.xD
Old
#2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwingling View Post
I just managed to remap my broken power button to my volume up button, so I am able to lock/unlock the screen. The problem is that it's still not possible to turn on the phone with the volumen button (shutdown/run out of battery). I changed the gpio-keys.kl and Generic.kl file for remapping. Anyone has a solution to replace the power button.

I really suppose it's not possible without changing the hardware or at least modifying the Bootloader.
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
 
Zwingling
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
I really suppose it's not possible without changing the hardware or at least modifying the Bootloader.
Another possible way is to invoke the charging screen. For example some Samsung devices use /system/bin/playlpm to display the splashscreen. SO if you change this script to:

PHP Code:
[CODE]#!/system/bin/sh
/system/bin/reboot 
[/CODE]

It would actually reboot.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes