Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S4 shows 9.57GB total space????? Help

OP dssking

6th May 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.
6th May 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking

I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.

Bloatware.
6th May 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,927
 
11,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking

I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.

If you want to bring it back like new use Odin and flash the same firmware you're currently on back onto the device

But the amount of storage you have does not look unreasonable. Did you make any nandroid backups? They take a lot of space

Edit, a search found this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=40717698

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by jd1639; 6th May 2014 at 08:46 PM.
7th May 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hey Guys.

But we are using custom roms. So how would it still take up the extra 6 gigs missing? Or am I forgetting something?
7th May 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #5  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,848
 
7,575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Unless I am missing something, you are not going to see more than that. I think the area that Samsung set aside is not changeable. And your numbers are consistent with what others report. My 32gb phone shows 23.81 availabe and 13.11 free after taking into account what I have loaded. It won't show 32gb. I am also running CM11 M6, a light rom in comparison to TW roms.

If I am off on this you more techy guys can set me straight--
7th May 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,927
 
11,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking

Hey Guys.

But we are using custom roms. So how would it still take up the extra 6 gigs missing? Or am I forgetting something?

The partition sizes are set. Custom roms don't change those. Userdata is what you have available the rest is allocated by android. Even if you don't use all the space in other partitions you don't have access to that storage

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #7  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,848
 
7,575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

The partition sizes are set. Custom roms don't change those. Userdata is what you have available the rest is allocated by android. Even if you don't use all the space in other partitions you don't have access to that storage

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app


Thought So--
The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Understood................makes sense. Good thing about the SD slot...........

The Following User Says Thank You to dssking For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes