Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 53,747 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S4 shows 9.57GB total space????? Help

Tip us?
 
dssking
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 223
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default S4 shows 9.57GB total space????? Help

I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.
 
airforcerg
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking View Post
I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.
Bloatware.
 
jd1639
Old
(Last edited by jd1639; 6th May 2014 at 07:46 PM.)
#3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,353
Posts: 9,850
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking View Post
I've been loading Rom after Rom on my S4 and settled on the GoldenEye 29 Rom.
Now.....after all is said and done, when plugged into my PC, it's only showing 9.57gb total.

16 gig phone.......... Strange??

I'm going to do a full factory wipe to bring i tback to the way it came out of the box
and start over.........How?? How to format the entire phone? EVERYTHING....bring
the directory structure back to normal?

Thanks.
If you want to bring it back like new use Odin and flash the same firmware you're currently on back onto the device

But the amount of storage you have does not look unreasonable. Did you make any nandroid backups? They take a lot of space

Edit, a search found this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=40717698

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
dssking
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 223
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hey Guys.

But we are using custom roms. So how would it still take up the extra 6 gigs missing? Or am I forgetting something?
 
rugmankc
Old
#5  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,809
Posts: 7,497
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Unless I am missing something, you are not going to see more than that. I think the area that Samsung set aside is not changeable. And your numbers are consistent with what others report. My 32gb phone shows 23.81 availabe and 13.11 free after taking into account what I have loaded. It won't show 32gb. I am also running CM11 M6, a light rom in comparison to TW roms.

If I am off on this you more techy guys can set me straight--
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For The Note 4--The Game Changer








 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,353
Posts: 9,850
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssking View Post
Hey Guys.

But we are using custom roms. So how would it still take up the extra 6 gigs missing? Or am I forgetting something?
The partition sizes are set. Custom roms don't change those. Userdata is what you have available the rest is allocated by android. Even if you don't use all the space in other partitions you don't have access to that storage

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rugmankc
Old
#7  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,809
Posts: 7,497
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
The partition sizes are set. Custom roms don't change those. Userdata is what you have available the rest is allocated by android. Even if you don't use all the space in other partitions you don't have access to that storage

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thought So--
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For The Note 4--The Game Changer








The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dssking
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 223
Join Date: Jul 2012
Understood................makes sense. Good thing about the SD slot...........

The Following User Says Thank You to dssking For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes