Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,667 Members 49,634 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Change baseband without flashin whole firmware through ODIN

Tip us?
 
BOOTMGR
Old
#1  
BOOTMGR's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1537
Posts: 673
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ahmedabad
Info 2 [GUIDE] Change baseband without flashin whole firmware through ODIN

Hi,

I see many people flashing whole firmware through ODIN just for changing their baseband (specially CM users). A simple way exist just for changing baseband.

Quote:
What you'll need?
  • Rooted device
  • busybox installed
  • Terminal emulator
  • Baseband to flash
Quote:
So what you need to do?
  • Extract firmware tar file & put modem.bin.md5 on your device as /sdcard/modem.bin.md5 (internal sdcard)
  • Fire up terminal emulator, get su rights by typing in terminal su
  • Now type
    Code:
    Select Code
    dd if=/sdcard/modem.bin.md5 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13
    and hit enter.
Thats all...
You can do this directly from CM based ROMs also...

As usual i'm not responsible for bricked devices...!


The world aint all sunshine and rainbows, its a very mean and nasty place and I dont care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it.
You, me, or nobody, is gonna hit as hard as life; but it aint about how hard you hit, its about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much you can take and keep moving forward.
Thats how winning is done...
Donate me some "Thanks" if i've helped you...
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to BOOTMGR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BMARo
Old
#2  
BMARo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 251
Join Date: Dec 2011
Newbie question. What is the help of flashing a new baseband ?
I have LQE (ROMANIA) baseband. Can I flash LQL (ITALY) baseband ?
If I helped you, please touch Thanks button to apreciate my contribution to this comunity.

My contribution
Cyanogen Mod Utility
My Device:
 
Device: Samsung Galaxy S Advance I9070
Rooted: with update.zip from sdcard in recovery.
ROM: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth V3.1
URL: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2646047
ChangeLog: http://www.drdevs.com/devs/teamliqui...ance/Changelog
Recovery: CWM 6.0.4.9 flashed with ROM
Mod: I don't have any MOD's
 
BMARo
Old
#3  
BMARo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 251
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thumbs up Confirmation

Tested -> Working!
If I helped you, please touch Thanks button to apreciate my contribution to this comunity.

My contribution
Cyanogen Mod Utility
My Device:
 
Device: Samsung Galaxy S Advance I9070
Rooted: with update.zip from sdcard in recovery.
ROM: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth V3.1
URL: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2646047
ChangeLog: http://www.drdevs.com/devs/teamliqui...ance/Changelog
Recovery: CWM 6.0.4.9 flashed with ROM
Mod: I don't have any MOD's
 
BMARo
Old
(Last edited by BMARo; 7th May 2014 at 01:21 PM.)
#4  
BMARo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 251
Join Date: Dec 2011
After flashing this, restarted my phone and a BIGGGG log file apeared in /data.
Look:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-07-15-06-04.png
Views:	95
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	2730489

P.S. Sorry for new post! I had to edit the previous one....
If I helped you, please touch Thanks button to apreciate my contribution to this comunity.

My contribution
Cyanogen Mod Utility
My Device:
 
Device: Samsung Galaxy S Advance I9070
Rooted: with update.zip from sdcard in recovery.
ROM: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth V3.1
URL: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2646047
ChangeLog: http://www.drdevs.com/devs/teamliqui...ance/Changelog
Recovery: CWM 6.0.4.9 flashed with ROM
Mod: I don't have any MOD's
 
rog_star
Old
#5  
rog_star's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 155
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOOTMGR View Post
Hi,
I see many people flashing whole firmware through ODIN just for changing their baseband (specially CM users). A simple way exist just for changing baseband.
There is also a flashable zip by t4n017.
So you can't make typos and brick your phone
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S Advance I9070
ROM: Slimkat
Baseband: XXLQL
Launcher: Nova Prime
GApps: Slim_mini_gapps
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes