Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,968 Members 42,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bell HTC One won't boot

Tip us?
 
cdn_traveller
Old
(Last edited by cdn_traveller; 7th May 2014 at 03:31 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] Bell HTC One won't boot

I have been reading and trying to get this figured out for a few days now. I have an HTC one from Bell Mobility that won't boot up. It is S-ON and there does not seem to be an RUU for the Bell variant.

I am looking for a way to set S-ON so I can install CWM and flash the nandroid backup that I did find..

The phone's battery went dead last week and it would not boot after that. The first htc splash screen(white) has bars horizontal at the bottom and then the HTC logo with the beats logo at the bottom just hangs on the phone.

I can get to download mode and fastboot works. Adb doesn't work(but I think that is because it never boots into android)

How can I fix this thing? it isn't under warranty, I bought it used..

Oh, I have done factory reset, tried recovery mode, rebooted many many times, tried everything I came across...
Any ideas? I am at the end of my rope!
 
bored_stupid
Old
#2  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_traveller View Post
I have been reading and trying to get this figured out for a few days now. I have an HTC one from Bell Mobility that won't boot up. It is S-ON and there does not seem to be an RUU for the Bell variant.

I am looking for a way to set S-ON so I can install CWM and flash the nandroid backup that I did find..

The phone's battery went dead last week and it would not boot after that. The first htc splash screen(white) has bars horizontal at the bottom and then the HTC logo with the beats logo at the bottom just hangs on the phone.

I can get to download mode and fastboot works. Adb doesn't work(but I think that is because it never boots into android)

How can I fix this thing? it isn't under warranty, I bought it used..

Oh, I have done factory reset, tried recovery mode, rebooted many many times, tried everything I came across...
Any ideas? I am at the end of my rope!
First off try force reboot:
Press and hold POWER + VOL DOWN (under a bright light), after about 5 seconds or so buttons should start blinking, and after 30 seconds or so, the phone will reboot, let go of POWER, but keep holding VOLDOWN to get back to bootloader.
(you may need to try 2 or 3 times to get it right)

Can you post a fastboot getvar all

Is your bootloader unlocked?

Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
 
cdn_traveller
Old
(Last edited by cdn_traveller; 7th May 2014 at 01:47 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
I unlocked my bootloader from the HTC website. Here is a getvar. I removed the serial and IMEI.

version: 0.5
version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
version-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
version-cpld: None
version-microp: None
version-main: 4.19.666.8
version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON

meid: 00000000000000
product: m7_ul
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0712000
cidnum: BM___001
battery-status: good
battery-voltage: 4215mV
partition-layout: Generic
security: on
build-mode: SHIP
boot-mode: FASTBOOT
commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
hbootpreupdate: 11
gencheckpt: 0

To get that, I had to go to fastboot on the screen with the diagnostics info on it that says HBOOT and allows fastboot, recovery, factory reset, etc...

I appreciate the help, I am getting frustrated

Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
First off try force reboot:
Press and hold POWER + VOL DOWN (under a bright light), after about 5 seconds or so buttons should start blinking, and after 30 seconds or so, the phone will reboot, let go of POWER, but keep holding VOLDOWN to get back to bootloader.
(you may need to try 2 or 3 times to get it right)

Can you post a fastboot getvar all

Is your bootloader unlocked?

Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
 
bored_stupid
Old
(Last edited by bored_stupid; 7th May 2014 at 04:44 PM.)
#4  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_traveller View Post

To get that, I had to go to fastboot on the screen with the diagnostics info on it that says HBOOT and allows fastboot, recovery, factory reset, etc...

I appreciate the help, I am getting frustrated
HBOOT screen is your bootloader and that is where fastboot commands are run from.

Adb only works within a working os or in recovery.

[QUOTE] I am looking for a way to set S-ON so I can install CWM and flash the nandroid backup that I did find..[QUOTE].


S-On/S-Off has nothing to do with flashing a recovery, only bootloader has to be unlocked , so....

Enter bootloader
Connect phone to PC.
Put the CWM recovery in your fastboot/adb folder.
Press shilft and right mouse
Scroll down to....
Open command prompt

Then fastboot devices
Once some numbers are shown

fastboot flash recovery filename.img


( filename is name of recovery)

fastboot erase cache

fastboot reboot-bootloader

Scroll down to recovery and press power

You should now be able to restore your backup.

PS. If your S-Off. Stay S-Off.. it can sometimes be your only hope of restoring a bricked phone.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes