Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Reboot to recovery keeps running CF-auto-root

OP bozob

6th May 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I just got a new (refurbished?) S3 from ATT's insurance program (never doing that again...For the price of the insurance and the deductible I could've gotten a very clean used one.) I tried rooting it with CF-auto-root onto 4.3 which worked well for me on the now dead S3 I had that had an OTA upgrade, but it didn't root. Now a reboot to recovery always runs CF-auto-root. I'm sure that the same thing keeping the phone from rooting is keeping CF-auto-root from restoring the bootloader, but I have no idea what that is and how to fix it.

Any ideas? Is this a KNOX issue?

Using I747UCUEMJB with Oct '13 build.
7th May 2014, 03:52 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozob

I just got a new (refurbished?) S3 from ATT's insurance program (never doing that again...For the price of the insurance and the deductible I could've gotten a very clean used one.) I tried rooting it with CF-auto-root onto 4.3 which worked well for me on the now dead S3 I had that had an OTA upgrade, but it didn't root. Now a reboot to recovery always runs CF-auto-root. I'm sure that the same thing keeping the phone from rooting is keeping CF-auto-root from restoring the bootloader, but I have no idea what that is and how to fix it.

Any ideas? Is this a KNOX issue?

Using I747UCUEMJB with Oct '13 build.

Install GOOMANAGER from Google Play and install the custom recovery from within the app to fix this problem.
7th May 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by petenatas

Install GOOMANAGER from Google Play and install the custom recovery from within the app to fix this problem.

Thanks for the response.

GOOMANAGER won't work. It requires that the device be rooted first, but CF-auto-root was never able to root the phone. I think the same thing that is keeping it from rewriting the recovery after rooting the device is also keeping it from rooting the device and loading the SuperSU binary.

Is there something new on this S3 that is making this phone non-rootable? Or am I just missing something?
7th May 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozob

Thanks for the response.

GOOMANAGER won't work. It requires that the device be rooted first, but CF-auto-root was never able to root the phone. I think the same thing that is keeping it from rewriting the recovery after rooting the device is also keeping it from rooting the device and loading the SuperSU binary.

Is there something new on this S3 that is making this phone non-rootable? Or am I just missing something?

Did you try to flash the recovery image through the bootloader with adb?
7th May 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by petenatas

Did you try to flash the recovery image through the bootloader with adb?

I just loaded TWRP 2.7.0.0. I tried to look through the files (I loaded a zip of SuperSU yesterday onto the phone) but when I look at the text screen I see the following.

E: Unable to find partition size for '/boot'
E: Primary block device '/dev/block/mmcblk0p15' for mount point '/data' is not present.
Unable to mount '/data'
Unable to recreate /data/media folder.
Unable to find partition size for '/recovery'
Updating Partition details....
Unable to mount '/system'


Would TWRP's "Fix Permissions" solve this? I'm hesitant to use it without finding out more about "Fix Permissions", but I can't seem to find any detail on it.
...
Unable to mount /data/media during GUI startup
Full SELinux support is present
...
Finished running boot script.
Unable to mount 'cache'
Unable to mount /data/media/TWRP/.twrps when trying to read settings file.



Would TWRP's "Fix Permissions" solve this? I'm hesitant to use it without finding out more about "Fix Permissions", but I can't seem to find any detail on it.
Last edited by bozob; 7th May 2014 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Added the question at the end
7th May 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozob

I just loaded TWRP 2.7.0.0. I tried to look through the files (I loaded a zip of SuperSU yesterday onto the phone) but when I look at the text screen I see the following.

E: Unable to find partition size for '/boot'
E: Primary block device '/dev/block/mmcblk0p15' for mount point '/data' is not present.
Unable to mount '/data'
Unable to recreate /data/media folder.
Unable to find partition size for '/recovery'
Updating Partition details....
Unable to mount '/system'


Would TWRP's "Fix Permissions" solve this? I'm hesitant to use it without finding out more about "Fix Permissions", but I can't seem to find any detail on it.
...
Unable to mount /data/media during GUI startup
Full SELinux support is present
...
Finished running boot script.
Unable to mount 'cache'
Unable to mount /data/media/TWRP/.twrps when trying to read settings file.



Would TWRP's "Fix Permissions" solve this? I'm hesitant to use it without finding out more about "Fix Permissions", but I can't seem to find any detail on it.


OK...I tried "Fix Permissions" and it didn't change a thing.

Still can't get TWRP to mount anything. Probably this is because of the same problem keeping CF-auto-root from working.
7th May 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I've installed adb and can shell into the phone when it is in it's normal OS. But there is no SU command available.

But now I'm lost as to how to go about gaining root access and I haven't been able to locate anything similar to my problem online.

I'm now looking for suggestions from someone who might know more about this than I do.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes