Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,443 Members 47,964 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking code from Carrier

Tip us?
 
slight22
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 288
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Unlocking code from Carrier

I unlocked my S4 and gave it to a friend of mine. She tried to put it on Mobilicity but she was told that it wouldn't work. She also tried putting it on WIND and they said it didn't work. I call BS on this, but, my question is this.

I bought an unlock code for the phone from Telus. Is it possible this unlock code only unlocks the phones for the major Canadian carriers (Bell, Telus and Rogers) not every carrier? I know my S3 I unlocked, took it to Europe and it worked fine on 3. I have no issue rooting and unlocking the S4 our way but if the Telus way didn't work I want my 35 dollars back.
A company that makes an APP should be responsible to make it for all platforms and devices. I'm not buying an Apple PoS just to use your app!!!
 
troy00
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver
The Telus S4 and the Wind/Mobilicity S4 are two different models - I337M and M919V. The main difference between the two is that the M919V is set up such that it can use AWS. So if you have unlocked your Telus S4, it will not work on Wind/Mobilicity.

...but...

You can enable AWS on your Telus S4. Check the forums...there is a thread explaining how to do it. "How to enable AWS on your I337/I337M" or something like that.

Good luck!

---------- Post added 15th April 2014 at 12:00 AM ---------- Previous post was 14th April 2014 at 11:58 PM ----------

And here is the thread...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2291589
sent from my slimT989
----
 
CZ Eddie
Old
#3  
CZ Eddie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 954
Posts: 3,452
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Gheez, I just talked to AT&T and they refused to unlock my S4 because I'm still under contract for another year.

So I tried Region Lockaway by Chainfire:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockaway&hl=en

But it complained about something like a "CSS" code.
Could be because I'm on GPE ROM and not stock ROM.
Oh well.
TMO Galaxy Note 3 on ATT unlimited data plan

  • bri315317's Dynamic Kat 4.4.2 ROM
  • imoseyon's LeanKernel


  • Samsung Galaxy S5
  • Samsung Galaxy S4
  • Samsung Galaxy S3
  • Samsung Galaxy Skyrocket
  • Samsung Infuse
  • HTC Inspire


**** Check out my how-to DIY kickstand case!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52585717
**** Visit my XDA thread to help get APT-X High Definition Bluetooth Audio working in AOSP ROM's!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2531440
 
steelydan9918
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
Gheez, I just talked to AT&T and they refused to unlock my S4 because I'm still under contract for another year.

So I tried Region Lockaway by Chainfire:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockaway&hl=en

But it complained about something like a "CSS" code.
Could be because I'm on GPE ROM and not stock ROM.
Oh well.
Shame. I traveled to London 3 months after purchasing my S4 (on official US release date), and AT&T provided the unlock code for free. Granted, my phone wasn't rooted yet. Either way, I'd try calling AT&T again and hopefully it's just a matter of getting a better AT&T rep. I was also in a 2-year contract...
 
davidisurf
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vitoria
Ask for the carrier unlock r phone when u still under contract is almost like lottery
Most can't get it unlocked, however u always see someone that got the phone unlocked
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes