Post Reply

Unlocking code from Carrier

14th April 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I unlocked my S4 and gave it to a friend of mine. She tried to put it on Mobilicity but she was told that it wouldn't work. She also tried putting it on WIND and they said it didn't work. I call BS on this, but, my question is this.

I bought an unlock code for the phone from Telus. Is it possible this unlock code only unlocks the phones for the major Canadian carriers (Bell, Telus and Rogers) not every carrier? I know my S3 I unlocked, took it to Europe and it worked fine on 3. I have no issue rooting and unlocking the S4 our way but if the Telus way didn't work I want my 35 dollars back.
15th April 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 12
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
The Telus S4 and the Wind/Mobilicity S4 are two different models - I337M and M919V. The main difference between the two is that the M919V is set up such that it can use AWS. So if you have unlocked your Telus S4, it will not work on Wind/Mobilicity.

...but...

You can enable AWS on your Telus S4. Check the forums...there is a thread explaining how to do it. "How to enable AWS on your I337/I337M" or something like that.

Good luck!

---------- Post added 15th April 2014 at 12:00 AM ---------- Previous post was 14th April 2014 at 11:58 PM ----------

And here is the thread...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2291589
15th April 2014, 12:16 AM   |  #3  
CZ Eddie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 991
 
3,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Gheez, I just talked to AT&T and they refused to unlock my S4 because I'm still under contract for another year.

So I tried Region Lockaway by Chainfire:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockaway&hl=en

But it complained about something like a "CSS" code.
Could be because I'm on GPE ROM and not stock ROM.
Oh well.
15th April 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie

Gheez, I just talked to AT&T and they refused to unlock my S4 because I'm still under contract for another year.

So I tried Region Lockaway by Chainfire:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockaway&hl=en

But it complained about something like a "CSS" code.
Could be because I'm on GPE ROM and not stock ROM.
Oh well.

Shame. I traveled to London 3 months after purchasing my S4 (on official US release date), and AT&T provided the unlock code for free. Granted, my phone wasn't rooted yet. Either way, I'd try calling AT&T again and hopefully it's just a matter of getting a better AT&T rep. I was also in a 2-year contract...
7th May 2014, 07:01 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Vitoria
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Ask for the carrier unlock r phone when u still under contract is almost like lottery
Most can't get it unlocked, however u always see someone that got the phone unlocked
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Samsung Galaxy S 4 General by ThreadRank