Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,879 Members 43,899 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] KF2 Rooted with cm11 and kitkat running

Tip us?
 
getnby
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2013
I had to work all weekend. I tried to get access through ubuntu 13.10. I used the commands you provided (sudo apt-get update). This command worked fine. When I used this command (sudo apt-get install android-tools-fastboot) It said I had to enable universe. I did some research and got that working and tried to use this command again (sudo apt-get install android-tools-fastboot) then this one worked fine. Then I tried the last command with my kindle in fastboot mode flashing green light (sudo fastboot -i 0x1949 getvar product ). The message was cannot connect to otter-2 ... device. Same thing I have been getting all along.
I think when I wiped the system I cleared all the software to connect to any external device. I don't know if I can even get access to restore the original OS. If you haven't guessed by now I an a noob. I think you realized that with my adb commands with fastboot enabled. I got the impression you knew when I saw the *facepalm* comment the the beginning of you post. When my kindle is booted to twrp my computer does not recognize it. My computer will recognize as an adb device when in fastboot mode. My computer will recognize it as a kindle (with a yellow triangle in the device manager) when it is trying to boot with the white and blue logo. I don't know what to do at this point. Here is a screen shot with adb side load from twrp.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_NormarAppImage_resized.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	14.6 KB
ID:	2685849  
 
stunts513
Old
#12  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 605
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Interesting, seems that data didn't want to mount. Have you tried adb from Linux while in twrp? Just run "sudo apt-get install android-tools-adb" to install the command, if you can get adb access at least then I may be able to help fix this depending on what exactly is wrong. BTW I didn't exactly think you were a noon with that facepalm, I just see people get that misconception a lot about adb and fastboot commands. What exactly did that fastboot command report back, I was surprised it was an error when I saw otter2 in the error considering that was what that command was sort of supposed to report back.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
getnby
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2013
Here is where I am. See below. Now where do I put the file in ubuntu so I can access it from the terminal window. I am running ubuntu from a live CD. I tried the push command but it says no such file or directory. I told you I was a noob!

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF recovery
 
stunts513
Old
(Last edited by stunts513; 15th April 2014 at 09:35 AM.)
#14  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 605
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Since adb is in a system path must out it in the current directory you are CD'd into, if you left the terminal alone it should be in ~ (the home folder of the Ubuntu account) so photo the home folder and drop it in there and run "adb push filename /sdcard/"
Considering that /data doesn't want to mount and that /sdcard os technically in /data, that command might not work depending on what's going on. I reccomend seeing if you can first and if not goto the months and mount /cache if its not mounted already, and they pushing a twrp update into it to try to reflash twrp, its small enough I think it should fit into the cache, though I don't think a ROM would fit.
Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
getnby
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2013
I installed ubuntu on my laptop with windows 7. It seems to work better. I put the files in the home folder and the user folder. I mounted the cache and ubuntu said instead of unable to mount it was unable to access kindle now. Here is the terminal window results.

user@user-portable:~$ sudo apt-get install android-tools-adb
[sudo] password for user:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
android-tools-adb is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
user@user-portable:~$ adb push cm-10.2-20130908-UNOFFICAL-otter2.zip /sdcard/
cannot stat 'cm-10.2-20130908-UNOFFICAL-otter2.zip': No such file or directory
user@user-portable:~$
 
stunts513
Old
#16  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 605
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Um OK well the filenames are case sensitive in Linux so lookout for that. Also if it was in your home folder then it should have worked as long as you didn't CD anywhere else in the terminal first.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
getnby
Old
(Last edited by getnby; 7th May 2014 at 07:26 PM.)
#17  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thumbs up Problem Fixed

I fixed my problem. I had to restart my kindle into recovery mode and connect the fastboot cable to the computer and kindle before it booted into TWRP. At that point while booted into TWRP I used the push command in ebuntu terminal to sideload cm11 and gapps. After I loaded them I installed them with TWRP and rebooted. Now it is restored to where it was when I wiped it. I will not do the advanced wipe again.
Quote:
adb push cm-11-20140202-NIGHTLY-otter2.zip /sdcard/
adb push gapps-kk-20131119.zip /sdcard/
Thanks for your help stunts513

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more